Subject keywords: haka, Māori dance; Māori folk dancing.
Kāretu, T. S.
Haka : te tohu o te whenua rangatira = the dance of a noble people
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed, 1993.
Clements, Dave
The story of the haka
Hamilton, N.Z. : Haka Book, c1998.
Davidson, Janet M.
Maori : art and culture
Auckland, N.Z. : D. Bateman, 1996.
Barrow, Terence
Maori art of New Zealand
Wellington [N.Z.] : Reed ; 1978.
Adsett, Sandy.
Mataora : the living face : contemporary Maori art
Auckland, N.Z. : David Bateman : 1996.
Pownall, Glen.
Primitive art of the New Zealand Maori
Wellington, Seven Seas Publishing Pty [1972]
Prickett, Nigel.
Nga tohu tawhito = Early Maori ornaments
Auckland, N.Z. : David Bateman in association with Auckland Museum, 1999.
Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts (N.Z.)
Te Waka toi : contemporary Maori art from New Zealand :
Wellington, N.Z : Te Waka Toi, 1992.
Games and dances of the Maori : a guide book for teachers.
Wellington, N.Z : Govt Print., ; [1962?]
Armstrong, Alan
Games and dances of the Maori people
Wellington, N.Z. : Viking Sevenseas, c1986.
O'Connor, Briar.
b>He whai : old and new string figures from Aotearoa New Zealand
Auckland, N.Z. : Reed, 2002.
Maysmor, Bob.
Te manu tukutuku : a study of the Maori kite
Wellington, N.Z. : Allen & Unwin, 1990.
Deed, Colin.
Maori games = Nga mahi takaro a te Maori
Wellington, N.Z. : Viking Sevenseas, c1977.
Kaa, Hone.
Takaro
Webby, Kim.
About face
New Zealand Television Archive.
Art/Craft
[Lower Hutt, N.Z.] : New Zealand Television Archive , [1993]
Hatfield, Gordon Toi.
Dedicated by blood = Whakautu ki te toto
The Hague : Hunter Media, [2002]
Graham, Pita
Maori moko or tattoo
Auckland, N.Z. : Bush Press, 1994.
Te Riria, Ko
Maori tattoo
Auckland, N.Z. : Bush Press, 1989.
King, Michael
Moko : Maori tattooing in the 20th century
Auckland : D. Bateman, 1992.
Robley, Horatio Gordon
Moko; or, Maori tattooing
London : Chapman and Hall, 1896
Walker, Timothy
Robley : Te Ropere, 1840-1930
1985.
Simmons, D. R.
Ta moko : the art of Maori tattoo
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed Books, 1997.
Thomas, Nicholas.
Tattoo : bodies, art, and exchange in the Pacific and the West
Durham : Duke University Press, 2005.
Johansson, Dean.
Wearing ink : the art of tattoo in New Zealand
Auckland, N.Z. : David Bateman, 1994.
Duff, Roger.
Early man in the Pacific ; Maori rock drawings
Timaru, N.Z. : Radio New Zealand Sound Archives, [1986?]
Gale, Len.
Greenstone carving : a skillbase of techniques and concepts
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed, 1997.
Brailsford, Barry.
Greenstone trails : the Maori and pounamu
Hamilton, N.Z. : Stoneprint Press, 1996.
Riley, Murdoch.
Jade treasures of the Maori
Paraparaumu, N.Z. : Viking Sevenseas, c1994.
Neich, Roger.
Pounamu : Maori jade of New Zealand
Auckland, N.Z. : David Bateman, 1997.
Hanna, Neil
Pounamu : New Zealand jade
[Kamo, N.Z. : Jadepress, 1995]
Robley, Horatio Gordon
Pounamu : notes on New Zealand greenstone
London [England] : T.J.S. Guilford, 1915.
New Zealand Television Archive.
Art/Craft
[Lower Hutt, N.Z.] : New Zealand Television Archive , [1993]
New Zealand Flax Commissioners.
Catalogue of the samples of fibres and manufactured articles prepared from the Phormium tenax.
Wellington : Thomas W. M'Kenzie, printer, 1871.
Pendergrast, Mick
Fun with flax : 50 projects for beginners
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed Methuen, 1987.
Scheele, Sue
Harakeke : the Rene Orchiston collection
Lincoln, N.Z. : Manaaki Whenua Press, 1994.
Van de Klundert, Jan.
Te kono naku raranga harakeke
Rotorua, N.Z. : Nga Puna Waihanga, 1996.
Buck, Peter Henry
Maori decorative art. House panels (Arapaki, Tuitui, or Tukutuku) / No. 1
[1921]
Phillipps, W. J.
Maori rafter and taniko designs.
Wellington, N.Z : Harry H. Tombs, [1960]
Tamati-Quennell, Megan.
Pu manawa : a celebration of whatu, raranga and taniko :
Wellington, N.Z. : Museum of New Zealand, 1993.
Pendergrast, Mick
Raranga whakairo : = Maori plaiting patterns
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed Books, 1991, c1984.
Smith, Joyce Ronald
Taaniko : Maori hand-weaving
London : Octopus, 1975.
Mead, Sidney M.
Taniko weaving : technique and tradition = Te whatu taniko
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed, 1999.
Te Kanawa, Diggeress.
Weaving a kakahu
Wellington, N.Z. : Bridget Williams Books.
Von Haast, Julius
Ancient rock paintings : Weka Pass Range near Waikari
Christchurch [N.Z.] : Kiwi Pub., c1996
Park, Graham Stuart.
The dendroglyphs and petroglyphs of the Chatham Islands.
Dunedin : Anthropology Dept., University of Otago, 1976.
Duff, Roger.
Early man in the Pacific ; Maori rock drawings
Timaru, N.Z. : Radio New Zealand Sound Archives, [1986?]
Dunn, Michael
Maori rock art
Wellington, A. H. & A. W. Reed [1972]
Thompson, Paul
Maori rock art : an ink that will stand forever
[Wellington, N.Z.] : GP Books, c1989.
Schoon, Theo
Maori rock drawings
Timaru, N.Z. : Radio New Zealand Sound Archives, [1986?]
Trotter, Michael Malthus.
Prehistoric rock art of New Zealand
Auckland, N.Z. : Longman Paul, 1981.
National Museum of New Zealand.
Ka Tuhituhi o nehera = The drawings of ancient times.
[Wellington, N.Z.] : National Museum of New Zealand ; 1988.
New Zealand Television Archive.
Art/Craft
[Lower Hutt, N.Z.] : New Zealand Television Archive , [1993]
Shennan, Jennifer.
The Maori action song
Wellington, N.Z. : New Zealand Council for Educational Research, 1984.
McLean, Mervyn.
Maori music
Auckland [N.Z.] : Auckland University Press, 1996.
Mitcalfe, Barry.
Maori poetry : the singing word
Wellington : Price Milburn for Victoria University Press, 1974.
Harlow, Ray.
A name & word index to Nga moteatea
Dunedin, N.Z. : University of Otago Press, 1986.
Mitcalfe, Barry.
Poetry of the Maori : translations
Hamilton, N.Z. : Paul's Book Arcade, 1961.
Smith, Ailsa
Songs and stories of Taranaki = He tuhituhinga Tai hau-a-uru
Christchurch, N.Z : Macmillan Brown Centre for Pacific Studies, 1993.
Orbell, Margaret Rose.
Waiata : Maori songs in history : an anthology
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed, 1991.
Raerino, Ngamaru.
He waiata onamata = Songs from the past.
Auckland, N.Z. : Te Reo Rangatira Trust ; 1998.
Haddon, Alfred C.
Canoes of Oceania
Honolulu, Hawaii : Bishop Museum Press, [1975]
Best, Elsdon
The Māori canoe
Wellington, N.Z. : Te Papa Press, 2005.
Nelson, Anne
Maori canoes = Nga waka Maori
Wellington, N.Z. : IPL Books, 1998.
Mead, Sidney M.
The art of Maori carving = Te Toi whakairo
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed, 1995.
Tovey, Arthur Gordon
The arts of the Maori.
Wellington, 1961.
Ford, John
A brief essay on the history of Maori art in New Zealand
Wellington, [N.Z.] : Te Waka Toi - Council for Maori and South Pacific Arts, [1993?]
Waikato Museum of Art and History.
The carved history of Tainui : Te Winika Gallery
Hamilton, N.Z. : Tainui Maaori Trust Board, Waikato Museum c1997.
Fox, Aileen
Carved Maori burial chests : a commentary and a catalogue
Auckland, N.Z. : Auckland Institute and Museum, 1983.
M
Neich, Roger.
Historical change in Rotorua Ngati Tarawhai woodcarving art
1977.
Taumaunu, Moni.
Iti te Kopara, iti te Mokoroa
Whanganui-a-Tara, Aotearoa : Te Pou Taki Korero, 1994.
Pownall, Glen.
Know your Maori carving
Wellington [N.Z.] : Viking Sevenseas, 1982.
Barrow, Terence
The life and work of the Maori carver
Wellington [N.Z.] : School Publications Branch, Dept. of Ed. 1963.
Padovan, Renzo
The Maori as an artist : plates and an essay.
Wellington : Reed, 1957.
Phillipps, W. J.
Maori carving illustrated
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed, 1997.
Barrow, Terence
Maori godsticks : collected by the Rev. Richard Taylor
Wellington, N.Z. : Dominion Museum, 1959.
Barrow, Terence
Maori wood sculpture of New Zealand
Wellington, Reed [1969]
Archey, Gilbert
Sculpture and design : an outline of Maori art.
Auckland : [Printed by A. Dykes], 1955.
Archey, Gilbert
Sculpture and design : an outline of Maori art
[Auckland, N.Z.] : Auckland War Memorial Museum, 1960.
Oldman, W. O.
Skilled handwork of the Maori.
Wellington [N.Z.] : Polynesian Society, 1946.
Te Waru-Rewiri, Kura.
Stone-age Maori carving.
1973.
Day, Kelvin.
Te Tai Hauauru : Maori tribal carving from the Western District :
1983.
Brake, Brian
Te Maori : Taonga Maori = Treasures of the Maori
Auckland, [N.Z.] : Reed, 1994.
Simmons, D. R.
Whakairo : Maori tribal art
Auckland, N.Z. ; Oxford University Press, 1994.
Phillipps, W. J.
Carved houses of Te Arawa
Wellington, N.Z. : Dominion Museum, 1946-1948.
Phillipps, W. J.
Carved Maori houses of western and northern areas of New Zealand
Wellington [N.Z.] : Govt. Printer, 1955.
Barrett-Aranui, Hinekahukura.
A gossamer of wisdom : truths enshrouded within the ancestral house of Ngaati Maniapoto
[Hamilton, N.Z. : Waikato Print, University of Waikato, 1999]
Taylor, Alan.
The Maori builds; life, art and architecture from Moahunter days
[Christchurch, Whitcombe and Tombs, 1966]
Simmons, D. R.
The Maori meeting house = Te whare runanga
Auckland [N.Z.] : Reed, 1997.
Cresswell, John C. M.
Maori meeting houses of the North Island
Auckland : P.C.S. Publications, 1977.
Best, Elsdon
Maori storehouses and kindred structures.
Wellington : A. R. Shearer, Govt. Printer, 1974.
Neich, Roger.
Painted histories : early Maori figurative painting
Auckland, N.Z. : Auckland University Press, 2001.
Austin, Michael Robert.
Polynesian architecture in New Zealand
Simon, Morvin T.
Taku whare e-- : he mauri tu = My home my heart : the spirit dwells still
[Wanganui, N.Z.] : Wanganui Regional Community College, [1986]
