Reference Resources for Māori

In the Macmillan Brown Library you will find specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias relating to Te Ao Māori. These can be used for checking facts or definitions and for gathering background material.

Atlases

Aotearoa, New Zealand : an introduction to M?ori place names and iwi.

Bateman New Zealand historical atlas : ko papatuanuku e takoto nei

He Korero Purakau mo nga taunahanahatanga a nga tupuna = Place names of the ancestors, a Maori oral history atlas

Te Wai pounamu : the land and its people, circa 1840

Bibliographies

A Bibliography of Guides to Māori Information

Books in Māori, 1815-1900 = Ngā tānga reo Māori : an annotated bibliography = ngā kohikohinga me ona whakamārama

Hand-list of certain papers relating more or less directly to the Maori race, and published in various publications

Māori and the social services, an annotated bibliography

Ngā taonga o te Tai Tokerau : he pukapuka kāhui korero.

Pākehā treaty work : an annotated bibliography

Waitangi Tribunal bibliography, 1975-2005 : Tribunal reports, research reports and other publications

Encyclopedias

A concise encyclopedia of Maori myth and legend

Māori peoples of New Zealand = Ngā iwi o Aotearoa.

Tangata whenua o Aotearoa : an interactive encyclopedia of Maori culture and lifestyle.

Taonga tuku iho : illustrated encyclopedia of traditional Maori life

Research - Study Guides

He aratohu tuhi mā ngā ākonga o Te Wānanga-o-Raukawa 2005.

Te Ara tirohanga : a guide for researchers into Maori claims.