Assignment question: The main aim of this task is to find three appropriate resources on the following Māori concepts: Mana; Tapu; Utu. Students must outline and identify the key points of each resource.
Multiple Concepts
Barlow, C. (1991). Tikanga Whakaaro: Key concepts in Māori Culture. Auckland, New Zealand: Oxford University Press.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room lending collection DU 412.5 .S63 .B258
Central Library Level 10 DU 412.5 .S63 .B258
Mead, S. M. (1994). Customary concepts of the Maori: A source book for Maori Studies students. Wellington, New Zealand: Dept. of Maori Studies, Victoria University of Wellington.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room. Library use only DU 412.5 .S63 .C987
Metge, J. (1995). New growth from old: The Whānau in the modern world. Wellington, New Zealand: Victoria University Press.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room lending collection DU 412.5 .S63 .M591
Central Library Level 10 DU 415.5 .S63 .M591
Central Library Māori collection, level 4 306.8308999442 MET
Patterson, J. (1992). Exploring Maori values. Palmerston North, New Zealand: Dunmore Press.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room reference DU 412.5 .S63 .P317
Central Library Level 10 DU 412.5 .S63 .P317
Central Library Māori collection, level 4 199.93 PAT
Reilly, M., Duncan, S., Leoni, G., Paterson, L., Carter, L., Rātima, M., & Rewi, P. (eds.). (2018). Te Kōparapara: An introduction to the Māori world. Auckland, New Zealand: Auckland University Press.
Central Library Māori collection, level 4 305.899442 KOP
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa Room lending
Tapu
Bowden, R. (1979). Tapu and Mana: Ritual authority and political power in traditional Maori society. The Journal of Pacific History, 14 (1), 50-61. Retrieved from https://go.openathens.net/redirector/canterbury.ac.nz?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/25168358.pdf
Mead, S. (2016). Tikanga Māori: living by Māori values. Wellington, New Zealand: Huia Publishers.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room lending collection DU 412.5 .S63 .M479 2016
Central Library Central 3 Hour Loan - Self Loan Area DU 412.5 .S63 .M479 2016
Central Library Level 10 DU 412.5 .S63 .M479 2003 (earlier edition)
Central Library Māori collection, level 4 390.089994 MEA (earlier edition)
Ministry of Justice. (2001). A glimpse into the Māori world: Māori perspectives on justice = He hīnātore ki te ao Māori. Wellington, New Zealand: Author.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room lending collection KM 208.431 .G559 2001
Central Library Level 7 KM 208.431 .G559 2001
Central Library Māori collection, level 4 390.089994 GLI
Shirres, M. P. (1997). Te tangata = The human person. Auckland, New Zealand: Accent Publications.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room lending collection BL 2615 .S558
Central Library Level 11 BL 2615 .S558
Central Library Māori collection, level 4 299.92442 SHI
Shirres, M. P. (1982). Tapu. Journal of the Polynesian Society, 91 (1), 29-52. Retrieved from http://www.jps.auckland.ac.nz/document/?wid=3806
Mana
Palmer, B. (1946). Mana—Some Christian and Muslim parallels. Journal of the Polynesian Society, 55 (4), 263-276. Retrieved from http://www.jps.auckland.ac.nz/document/?wid=2456
Ministry of Justice. (2001). A glimpse into the Māori world: Māori perspectives on justice = He hīnātore ki te ao Māori. Wellington, New Zealand: Author.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room lending collection KM 208.431 .G559 2001
Central Library Level 7 KM 208.431 .G559 2001
Central Library Māori collection, level 4 390.089994 GLI
Utu
Ahu, T., Hoare, R., & Stephens, R. (2011). Utu: Finding a balance for the Legal Māori Dictionary. Victoria University of Wellington Law Review, 42 (2), 201-220. Retrieved from https://go.openathens.net/redirector/canterbury.ac.nz?url=https%3A%2F%2Fheinonline.org%2FHOL%2FP%3Fh%3Dhein.journals%2Fvuwlr42%26amp%3Bi%3D205
Ministry of Justice. (2001). A glimpse into the Māori world: Māori perspectives on justice = He hīnātore ki te ao Māori. Wellington, New Zealand: Author.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room lending collection KM 208.431 .G559 2001
Central Library Level 7 KM 208.431 .G559 2001
Central Library Māori collection, level 4 390.089994 GLI
Noa
Mikaere, A. (2003). The balance destroyed: the consequences for Māori women of the colonisation of Tikanga Māori. Auckland, New Zealand: Published jointly by the International Research Institute for Māori and Indigenous Education and A. Mikaere.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room lending collection HQ 1865.5 .M636 2003
Shirres, M. P. (1997). Te tangata = The human person. Auckland, New Zealand: Accent Publications.
Macmillan Brown Library Aotearoa room lending collection BL 2615 .S558
Central Library Level 11 BL 2615 .S558
Central Library Māori collection, level 4 299.92442 SHI
