Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

Sociology: Aotearoa/New Zealand

Kupu Whakataki - Introduction

This page is an introduction to using the Library to locate research about Aotearoa/New Zealand. More information on finding material to support study and research into Te Ao Māori can be found on the Māori and Indigenous Studies Subject Guide

Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New Zealand has a wealth of information about all aspects of Aotearoa, New Zealand.

 

Te Tiriti o Waitangi

Featured book

Books

Books about New Zealand and are mostly found in the Central Library and Macmillan Brown Library.  Most of the research materials on Te Ao Māori will be found in the MacMillan Brown Library. The relevant areas include:

DU 400 - 441 - New Zealand history

DU 412 - Māori (General)

DU 417 - 436 - Māori (History)

DU 417-418 - Treaty of Waitangi

Search either the Library Catalogue or MultiSearch to find books on your topic.  Use the keyword Zealand to restrict your search to material about New Zealand.

Newspaper articles

Factiva - Select Source - NZ Newspapers

Papers Past - digitised New Zealand newspapers and journals covering the years 1839-1945. 

Key databases

Use the following databases to help you to locate journal articles on or about New Zealand.

Key New Zealand databases

Index New Zealand - covers New Zealand journals and newspapers

NZresearch.org.nz - fulltext research from New Zealand universities, polytechnics and other research organisations, includes theses. 

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre - covers New Zealand and Australian journals and newspapers

Key International

Google Scholar

New Zealand Statistics

Statistics New Zealand - statistical data on all aspects of New Zealand life.

Statistics for Universities - additional statistical data packages providing tables on a range of social, demographic and economic variables.  

New Zealand Official Yearbook Online - provides a statistical picture of life in New Zealand.

Census (1996-2013)

NZ.Stat - Uses NZ census data to enable you to create customisable tables on a range of variables.

UC Library also has an agreement with Statistics New Zealand for the supply of New Zealand statistical data, some of which is not publicly available through the Statistics New Zealand web site [more information]

Statistical Resources - more information on finding New Zealand statistics

Government reports

New Zealand government online - links to all government departments.

Google - search using keywords and add "site:.govt.nz" to restrict your search to New Zealand government departments

Government and official information - library guide which provides more information on finding New Zealand government and official information.

Key New Zealand Government Departments: