Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Subject Guides

Sociology | Mātauranga Hapori: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Why use dictionaries & encyclopedias

Sociology dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you to: 

  • define terminology related to the study of Sociology.
  • find brief, factual information to supplement your research.
  • build up a context for your topic, and suggest ideas to explore.

Handbooks

Handbooks provide an in-depth introduction to sociology topics:

Blackwell companions to sociology

General e-reference resources

Oxford Reference Online
Subject titles from Oxford University Press - searchable as a set, in subject groups, or by individual title.

Sage Reference Online 
A selection of encyclopedias covering business, communication, health, psychology, science and sociology.

Sage Research Methods Online
Research methodology and design

Te Ara
New Zealand encyclopedia

Dictionaries & encyclopedias for Sociology

The following is a selective list of print and online encyclopedias and dictionaries available through the Library.

General

Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology
Connect to electronic resource

The concise encyclopedia of sociology
Connect to electronic resource

International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
Connect to electronic resource

The Sage glossary of the social and behavioral sciences
Connect to electronic resource

Theory

The Blackwell companion to major classical social theorists
Connect to electronic resource

The Blackwell companion to major contemporary social theorists
Connect to electronic resource

The new Blackwell companion to social theory
Connect to electronic resource

Special Topics

21st century criminology : a reference handbook
Connect to electronic resource

A dictionary of sports studies
Connect to electronic resource Oxford Quick Reference

Encyclopedia of cremation
Connect to electronic resource

Encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice
Connect to electronic resource

Encyclopedia of death and the human experience
Connect to electronic resource

Encyclopedia of new religious movements
Connect to electronic version

Encyclopedia of race and crime
Connect to electronic resource

Encyclopedia of sustainability
Connect to electronic resource

Encyclopedia of urban studies
Connect to electronic resource

International encyclopedia of public health
Connect to electronic resource

The new Blackwell companion to medical sociology
Connect to electronic resource

The new Blackwell companion to the sociology of religion
Connect to electronic resource