Library Subject Guides

Education: Physical Education, Outdoor Education & Sports Coaching

MultiSearch


?

Search across a range of Library resources, including

Finding Journal Articles

Use these databases to find journal articles relating to PE, outdoor education, and sports coaching:

Classroom Activities

Australian Sports Commission - activity cards a number of free to download activity cards are available here.

KiwiDex Manual A programme of fun activities encouraging daily exercise in children.

Push Play Kidszone Lots of ideas for kids of all ages to get them active.

Curriculum documents

The New Zealand Curriculum read it online

Health and Physical Education Curriculum read it online

The New Zealand Curriculum get a copy from the Library

Curriculum resources

PE Central Lots of ideas for teachers of health and PE, includes lesson plans and programmes for different age groups.

Web Resources

New Zealand database for nutrition, physical activity, sport and recreation literature

The Knowledge Library (from SportNZ), currently includes information on more than 1800 pieces of New Zealand based research, 130 funders and 150 related projects. If you are looking for New Zealand material, this database is well worth a look. 

 

Sport Coaching

Sport New Zealand coaching Information on coaching at all levels. You'll also find the journal, New Zealand Coach.

Australian Sports Commission Lots of useful information for coaches, including tools and tips for running a training session, coaching children, safety and ethics, activity cards, coaching specific groups, as well as high performance coaching.

Brian Mac Sports Coach A nice site with masses of useful information on coaching, fitness training, and sports science.

CoachesInfo Information for sports coaches, participants, physical educators and sports medicine. Browse by specific sport or read articles on coaching. The site also features the 10 most popular articles for the previous week.

Coaching Association of Canada Lots of information on coaching, including women in coaching, sport nutrition, research into coaching, conferences, as well as tips and tools.

CoachR.org Links to over 200 articles on coaching for athletics and other sports.

International Council for Coach Education An association promoting the profession of sports coaching. Includes a useful link to upcoming conferences

International journal of sports science & coaching A leading peer reviewed journal on sports science and coaching. The library has access to issues from 2007 to present via SportDiscus.

Institute for the study of youth sports Information for coaches, parents, kids, and researchers on youth sports. The coaching area contains case studies and resources. The researchers area has articles on coaching.

Sports Coach UK Lots of useful information. Includes research and research projects and a research database. NOTE: Some areas of the website require registration to access, however, registration is free.

 

Other Websites

KiwiDex Manual A programme of fun activities encouraging daily exercise for children.

Health and Physical Education Online A TKI website providing access to health and physical education resources.

SIRC Canada's Sport Information Resource Centre. Established in the the 1970s, they locate and disseminate sport research to sporting communities around the world. They are also the creators of the SportDiscus database.

SPARC Sport and Recreation New Zealand. Lots of resources to encourage everyone to get active and have fun:

  • See the Active Schools area to get ideas for creating a physically active school environment.
  • Have a look at Push Play to get ideas for making New Zealanders more active more often.
  • Developing Fundamental Movement Skills resources to encourage kids to get active through play.
  • SportFit activities and ideas to encourage 13 - 18 year olds to be active for life.

Contact us for help

Profile Photo
Education Subject Librarians

Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact:
Kathryn Andrews: ph 369 3945
Tues-Fri
Kiera Tauro: kiera.tauro@canterbury.ac.nz
Mon-Fri

Instant message a librarian

AskLIVE

Ask a librarian for help online in real time

We're always happy to hear from you!