Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Subject Guides

Health Sciences: Pacific Health

Tips for searching

When searching for Pacific health information you might need to try a combination of keywords. Useful broad terms might include some of the following: Pacific, Pasifika, Pasefika, Oceanic, Oceania, Melanesia, Micronesia, Polynesia. It is often also useful to search specific islands, for example, Fiji, Kiribati, Samoa, Tonga. For a list of islands see the Wikipedia page on Polynesia.

Some of the following databases could be useful -

Health databases

 

New Zealand, Pacific, Australasia

  • Index New Zealand
  • TROVE (National Library of Australia)

Thesis guide locate UC and other theses

Research repositories

  • UC Research Repository Research on a wide range of Pasifika topics
  • NZResearch.org Research from universities, polytechnics and research organisations around New Zealand
  • The Hub - Database of social science research undertaken or commissioned by the NZ Government

Traditional Health and Medicine

Most books on traditional health and medicine and ethnobotany are listed by individual countries though some are listed under Oceania or Polynesia. To find them, do a Subject begins with search on these topics and scroll through the list of countries or regions:

These subject headings are also useful:

 

Consortium of Pacific Herbaria. Supporting databasing, digitization and data sharing of plant specimens. 

Statistics: Pacific health and well-being

Statistics can be found on a range of Government webpages including, Statistics New Zealand and the Ministry of Health.

 

Figure.nz is a useful source of NZ statistics cumulated from a range of sources. See also the separate subject guide for New Zealand statistical resources

Covid19

For information on Covid19 for Pasifika communities, see the Government's Covid19 website.

This resource from USP also has information in multiple languages.

Pacific Models of Health

Fonua: A Pasifika Model for Health Promotion by Sione Tu'itahi

Fonofale Model From Fuimaono Karl Pulotu-Endemann (see appendix to the report for the model)

Popao Model: Folau ki he mo'ui lelei- Journey to Wellness: A Pacific Recovery and Strength Concept in Mental Health

Towards indigenous policy and practice: A Tuvaluan famework for wellbeing, Ola Lei. / by Tufoua Panapa et al. The Journal of the Polynesian Society 130(1), 2021

Te Vaka Atafaga: A Tokelau assessment model for supporting holistic mental health practice with Tokelau people in Aotearoa, New Zealand/ by Kupa Kupa. Pacific Health Dialog 15(1), 2009

Uputātua Therapeutic Approach. Seiuli, B. M. S. (2013). Counselling psychology from a Samoan perspective. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 42(3), 50-58

Pacific Mental Health and Wellbeing

Bibliographies

These two works provide a comprehensive introduction to the literature on Pasifika mental health:

To find individual articles from the bibliographies, copy the titles into Multisearch and follow the links. Contact me if you have difficulty accessing any.

Reports

 

Pacific Mental Health Models

See the box above for more Pacific health models.

Organisations and Government Departments

 

Other Resources

NZ Government and other organisations sources of information

New Zealand Government

Government departments are a useful source of information and research relating to Pacific and Oceanic health and well being in New Zealand.

Ministry of Health

 

Health Promotion Agency (HPA)

The HPA is a Crown institution established under the Health and Disability Amendment Act. It runs a range of programmes to promote the health and wellbeing of the community. Issues they've looked at include mental health, smoking, alcohol use and gambling.

 

Health Research Council (HRC)

The HRC is an agency of the Government that manages the Government's funding of health research.

 

Ministry for Pacific Peoples 

Ministry of Social Development see Pacific peoples for publications

Oranga Tamariki - Ministry for Children

Organisations and other sources of information

Pacific Research (University of Auckland)

New Zealand Family Violence Clearinghouse searchable database of resources relating to family violence

Health Promotion Forum of New Zealand Provides information and resources to those working in health promotion. Includes a section on Pacific health resources.

Contact Me for Help

Profile Photo
Margaret Paterson

NOTE: Appointments are currently only available via Zoom. Email me with any questions relating to Psychology, Speech and Language Pathology, or Health Sciences.

Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact:
Central Library
tel:3693921 (internal 93921)
Subjects: Health, Science

Health Sciences Subject Guide

For friendly, specialist help with finding health information, contact Margaret Paterson the Health Sciences Subject Librarian.