When searching for Māori health information it's likely you need to use a range of strategies. Useful keywords could include combinations of some of the following: Māori, iwi, hauroa, the names of specific Māori health models (in some databases you will get the best results if you put double quotation marks around the name of the model), regions of New Zealand or particular authors, for example, Mason Durie, Suzanne Pitama or Emma Espiner. The ISSG Search Filters Resource has a page on population group filters which includes indigenous populations and Māori. 

Health databases

Although the following databases are international, these are a useful way to find research published in both New Zealand and international journals.

• Medline
• EMBASE
• CINAHL
• Cochrane Library
• Scopus
• PsycINFO

NZ and Australian databases

• Index New Zealand
• TROVE (National Library of Australia)

Research repositories

• UC Research Repository Research on a wide range of Pasifika topics
• NZResearch.org Research from universities, polytechnics and research organisations around New Zealand
• APO - Analysis and Policy Observatory A database of public policy research. Contains grey literature on any public policy issue covering New Zealand, Australia and more. Includes resources on Māori health.
• New Zealand Institute for Pacific Studies

There are three models of Māori health.

Te Pae Mahutonga (Mason Durie)

Te Pae Mahutonga (the Southern Cross) is used to represent four elements of health promotion.

Te Whare Tapa Whā (Mason Durie)

A model depicting four cornerstones (or sides) of Māori health.

Te Wheke (Rose Pere)

Eight tentacles of te wheke (the octopus) represent family health.

Maramataka - Lunar calendar from Te Ara: The encyclopedia of New Zealand

Allright Maramataka 

Finding wellbeing through Maramataka Mental Health Foundation

Maramataka Insight Report 

Maramataka: Enlightening mental health services RNZ 

Berghan, G., Came, H., Coupe, N., Doole, C., Fay, J., McCreanor, T., & Simpson, T. (2017). Te Tiriti o Waitangi-based practice in health promotion. Auckland, Aotearoa New Zealand: STIR: Stop Institutional Racism. https://trc.org.nz/trea-ty-waitangi-based-practice-health-promotion

Journals

• MAI Journal
• AlterNative
• Māori Health Review
• New Zealand Medical Journal
• Nursing New Zealand: Kai Tiaki

Books on Māori health

Durie, M. (1998). Whaiora: Māori health development (2nd ed.). Oxford University Press.

Durie, M. (2001). Mauri ora: The dynamics of Māori health. Oxford University Press. 

Mead, S. M. (2016). Tikanga Māori: Living by Māori values. Huia Publishers. 

Pere, R. R. (1997). Te wheke: A celebration of infinite wisdom. Ao Ako Global Learning New Zealand.

Kingi, T. K., Durie, M., Elder, H., Tapsell, R., Lawrence, M., & Bennett, S. (2018). Maea te toi ora: Māori health transformations. Huia Publishers. 

Crocket, D. (2017). Moemoe?: Māori counselling journeys. Dunmore Publishing. 

Alsop, P. (2016). Mauri ora: Wisdom from the Māori world. Potton & Burton. 

NiaNia, W., Bush, A., & Epston, D. (2016). Collaborative and indigenous mental health therapy: Tātaihono-stories of Māori healing and psychiatiry. Taylor and Francis. 

Waitangi Tribunal. (2019). Hauora report on stage one of the Health Services and Outcomes Kaupapa Inquiry (WAI 2575). https://www.health.govt.nz/our-work/populations/maori-health/wai-2575-health-services-and-outcomes-kaupapa-inquiry

Search the Library catalogue for subject headings: 

• Maori -- Health and hygiene
• Maori -- Medical care
• Maori -- Mental health

Search the Library catalogue for M?ori subject headings:

• Hauora
• Whakamātau hinengaro
• Rongoā

Bibliographies on Māori health

Research Review: Māori health medical articles from international journals with commentary by Dr Matire Harwood. The Research Review covers topics such as Māori health policy, health inequalities, obesity, diabetes, immunisation and smoking cessation

Gilmour, K. L., & Holzke, J. (2017). Bibliography: Social work pertaining to Māori in New Zealand: Ngā Mahi Toko I Te Ora O Te Iwi Māori 1990-2017. UC Research Repository.  

Agee, M., Culbertson, P., & Mariu, L. (2005). A bibliography of literature related to Māori mental health. New Zealand Journal of Counselling, 26(2), 1-36.

Te Ara - the encyclopedia of New Zealand

Lange, R. (2018).  Te hauora Māori i mua: History of Māori health - Pre-European health. In Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New Zealand. Manat? Taonga–Ministry for Culture and Heritage. Retrieved January 17, 2022, from http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/en/artwork/27232/maori-warrior

New Zealand Government

Government departments provide a range of resources and research relating to Māori health.

Ministry of Health

• Māori health an extremely useful guide to Māori health policy, strategy, research and much more.
• Te Aka Whai Ora | Māori Health Authority interim plan for the first two years - Te Pae Tata: Interim New Zealand Health Plan (2022) see also Pae Tū:Hauora Māori Strategy (2023)
• Rongoā Māori: Traditional Māori healing 
• Te Whatu Ora websites: Links to local district health website (these replace the former District Health Boards)
• New Zealand Health Strategy 2016
• He Korowai Oranga - Māori Health Strategy
• Te Uru Kahikatea- Public health workforce development plan

Te Puni Kōkiri - Ministry of Māori Development

Ministry of Social Development - Te Manatū Wakahiato ora

Oranga Tamariki 

Kāinga Ora - Homes and Communities

Statistics

• Tatau Kahukura: Maori health statistics a snapshot of Māori health in the early 2010s from the Ministry of Health. See the Māori Health Chartbook for comparisons between Māori and non-Māori.
• Te Whatu Ora | Health New Zealand (replaces the previous District Health Board with a single national health system)
• District Health Board Māori health profiles 2015 webpage created by University of Otago, Wellington. Profiles for the former 20 DHBs, including: CDHB Māori health profile 2015. StatsNZ - Tatauranga Aotearoa
• StatsNZ - Māori statistics
• Suicide statistics from the Coronial Services of New Zealand
• data.govt.nz  a catalogue of NZ government freely available datasets
• Notifiable Disease Intelligence Dashboard from ESR
• Public Health Surveillance from ESR - collated and analysed data on a range of diseases in NZ

Organisations and other sources of information

Ngāi Tahu Māori Health Research Unit (University of Otago)

LiLACS NZ A New Zealand longitudinal study which is investigating the predictors of successful advanced ageing in both Māori and non-Māori populations in New Zealand.

Māori/Indigenous Health Innovation (MIHI) (University of Otago)

Te Pūtahitanga o Te Waipounamu Whānau Ora commissioning agency

Te Rua Ora promoting Māori health and the health workforce

• Canterbury wellbeing index produced by the Community and Public Health Te Whatu Ora, Health New Zealand, the index provides information about the wellbeing of the local population. The He Tohu Ora section of the site presents health indicators that reflect a Māori view of wellbeing.
• Mental Health Foundation
• Suicide web tool (Ministry of Health)
• Te Rua Ora Māori mental health workforce development

Articles

• Durie M. (1999). Mental health and Maori development. Australian & New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry, 33(1):5-12. httops://doi.org/10.1046/j.1440-1614.1999.00526.x
• Maree Kopua, D., Kopua, M. A., & Bracken, P. J. (2020). Mahi a Atua: A Māori approach to mental health. Transcultural Psychiatry, 57(2), 375-383.
• Rangihuna, D., Kopua, M., & Tipene-Leach, D. (2018). Mahi a Atua: A pathway forward for Māori mental health. New Zealand Medical Journal, 131(1471), 79-83.

Bibliographies

• Agee, M., Culbertson, P., & Mariu, L. (2005). A bibliography of literature related to Maori mental health. New Zealand Journal of Counselling, 26(2), 1-36.