Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Subject Guides

Linguistics | Mātai Wetereo: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

A guide for UC students and staff

Introduction

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you to:

  • define terminology related to the study of speech, anguage and hearing
  • find brief, factual information to supplement your research
  • build up a context for the topic, and suggest ideas to explore

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias for Lingustics

The following is a selected list of authoritative resources available through the Library. You can access the online titles both on and off campus. The print ones are shelved with the other material at the same call number.

Licensing, usage and access restrictions may apply to electronic resources. See more ...

Online

The Blackwell companion to phonology
Connect to electronic resource

Blackwell handbook of language development
Connect to electronic resource

Concise encyclopedia of brain and language
Connect to electronic resource

The concise Oxford companion to the English language
Connect to electronic resource Oxford Quick Reference

The concise Oxford dictionary of linguistics
Connect to electronic resource Oxford Quick Reference

A dictionary of linguistics and phonetics
Connect to electronic resource

Encyclopedia of language & linguistics
Connect to electronic resource

Encyclopedia of linguistics
Connect to electronic resource

Handbook of the syllable
Connect to electronic resource

International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
Connect to electronic resource
Central Library H 41 .I61 2001

Key terms in systemic functional linguistics
Connect to electronic resource

General Lingusitics

The Cambridge encyclopedia of the language sciences
Central Library P 29 .C178 2011

Concise encyclopedia of sociolinguistics
Central Library P 40 .C744 2001

A dictionary of linguistics & phonetics
Central Library P 29 .C957 2003

A dictionary of sociolinguistics
Connect to table of contents
Central Library P 40 .D554 2004

Encyclopedia of language & linguistics
Connect to electronic resource

Encyclopedia of linguistics
Connect to Table of contents
Central Library P 29 .E56 2005

Language and communication :a cross-cultural encyclopedia
Central Library P 29 .F494

Language and linguistics :the key concepts
Central Library P 29 .T775 2007

Semiotics

Encyclopedia of semiotics
Central Library P 99 .E56

Encyclopedic dictionary of semiotics
Central Library P 99 .E562

World Languages

The Cambridge encyclopedia of the world's ancient languages
Central Library P 371 .C178 2004

Compendium of the world's languages
Central Library P 371 .C187

Facts about the world's languages :an encyclopedia of the world's major languages, past and present
Central Library P 371 .F142 2001

The world atlas of language structures
Central Library P 107 .W927 2005

Writing systems and grammar

The Blackwell companion to syntax
Connect to
Central Library P 291 .B632 2006

The Blackwell encyclopedia of writing systems
Central Library P 211 .C855 1996

A dictionary of grammatical terms in linguistics
Central Library P 152 .T775

Encyclopedia of the languages of Europe
Central Library P 380 .E56

Key Online Encylopedia

The Blackwell Companion to Phonology by Edited by M. van Oostendorp et. al.

ISBN: 9781405184236