A variety of material on amphoras: searchable database of inscriptions (work in progress), passages form Greek literature mentioning amphoras (in English), bibliography of scholarly work on amphoras, Russian research papers (translated into English) and links to other websites describing amphoras from both land and sea excavations

A catalogue of ancient coastal settlements, ports and harbours based on a study of ancient and modern authors, including the Barrington Atlas.

An interactive cartographic history of the relationships between hydrological and hydraulic systems and their impact on the urban development of Rome, Italy. Timeframe from 753 BCE to the present day (work in progress)

“The main purpose of this web site is to make available a more comprehensive body of images of the Ara Pacis than previously available in any print or web publication.” Site includes a chronology and bibliography.

A large library of art objects (coins, vases, gems), sites and buildings. Each entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions and scholars

An extensive collection of links to museums, projects, archaeological sites, sorted by period and subject. Includes individual named images of vases, friezes and monuments
      ○  Ancient Greek Art
      ○  Ancient Roman Art

“Art & architecture mainly from the Mediterranean Basin, Japan, India & Cambodia”

A world centre for the study of ancient Greek painted pottery. Also includes extensive material on the history of gem-collecting and classical archaeology more generally

Volume 1 of The History of Cartography, edited by J.B. Harley and David Woodward.
Also held at UC Library in print format.

A digital model of the Roman Forum, created by the UCLA Cultural Virtual Reality Laboratory, as it appeared in late antiquity. The notional date of the model is June 21, 400 A.D.
NB. In this archived version, some links and features do not work.

“A database of archaeological excavations since the year 2000” – a project of the International Association of Classical Archaeology (AIAC) and the Center for the Study of Ancient Italy of the University of Texas at Austin (CSAI)

Over 1,500 colour and b&w photographs relating to ancient Greece and Rome taken by the author primarily for teaching purposes. Archived version via the Wayback Machine; internal search engine non-functional

     ○  Athenian Vase Painting: Black- and Red-Figure Techniques
     ○  Greek and Roman Art in the Ancient World
     ○  Greek Art, From Prehistoric to Classical: A Resource for Educators (Michael Norris)
     ○  Timelines
          ‣  Ancient Greece, 1000 B.C.–1 A.D.
          ‣  Ancient Greece, 1–500 A.D.
          ‣  Italian Peninsula, 1000 B.C.–1 A.D.
          ‣  Italian Peninsula, 1–500 A.D.

The site maps “the landscape of publications about Pompeii onto the space of the ancient city itself, creating a unified, bi-directional interface to both resources.”

Severan Marble Plan of Rome

Featuring the James Logie Memorial Collection
Teece Museum on Facebook
Teece Museum on Instagram

“This is a site for exploring the Column of Trajan as a sculptural monument. The core of the site is a searchable database of over 500 images focusing on various aspects of the design and execution of the column's sculptural decoration. These images (slides and drawings) were generated by and for sculptor Peter Rockwell, over the course of his study of Roman stone-carving practices.” Archived version via the Wayback Machine; internal search engine is non-functional.

“Contains all published fragments of Ancient Greek music which contain more than a few scattered notes. All of them are recorded under the use of tunings whose exact ratios have been transmitted to us by ancient theoreticians (of the Pythagorean school, most of them cited by Ptolemaios). Instruments and speed are chosen by the author.”

Click the site’s De Musicis tab for an annotated bibliography.
The site includes a list of ancient-music websites

A catalogue of ancient coastal settlements, ports and harbours based on a study of ancient and modern authors, including the Barrington Atlas.

EH.Net Encyclopedia , ed. Robert Whaples. 31 July 2004

Reconstructs the time cost and financial expense associated with a wide range of different types of travel in antiquity. The model is based on a simplified version of the giant network of cities, roads, rivers and sea lanes that framed movement across the Roman Empire. It broadly reflects conditions around 200 CE, but also covers a few sites and roads created in late antiquity

The Project is based in the Faculty of Classics, at the University of Oxford. The website makes accessible the large amounts of data that are studied during the project. Includes access to full-text working papers, bibliographies and databases

Project investigating provincial coins in the Roman Empire. The website includes a database of raw data generated by the project

A database of Roman Republican coin hoards from 155 BCE to 2 CE

Provides access to multiple online collections and digital projects using Linked Open Data

An open access numismatic web portal. As at August 2020 you can browse through and search for coins and coin types minted in Moesia Inferior, Thrace, Mysia and the Troad.

A catalogue of coins from 30 BCE to 211 CE

A database of provincial coinage of the Roman Empire

Photographic archive of archaeological and architectural remains. (Access via the Wayback Machine)

A virtual gallery of exhibits, categorised into topic areas such as Daily Life, Religion, Death and the Economy

Details of recent archaeological discoveries in Greece and Cyprus. Combines the Chronique published annually in the BCH by the École française d'Athènes/French School at Athens, and Archaeology in Greece, published as part of the annual Archaeological Reports by the Society for the Promotion of Hellenic Studies and the British School at Athens. Texts are in English or French.

A digital encyclopedia (in progress) of classical Athenian democracy that describes the history, institutions and people of democratic Athens in the 5th and 4th centuries BCE. (Access via the Wayback Machine)

An international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields

Covers political history and cultural, religious and social aspects of ancient Greece

An online exhibition for the Teece Museum of Classical Antiquities

    ○  AWMC Interactive
        To find places, click the “Launch AWMC Interactive” link (bottom of webpage) and the Search button (button at top right).
    ○  Maps – includes freely downloadable maps of the ancient world.

Volume 1 of The History of Cartography, edited by J.B. Harley and David Woodward.
Also held at UC Library in print format.

Numerous good-quality thematic maps covering Classical Greece, the Hellensitc World and Roman Republic, Principate and Empire and Late Antiquity

A collection of modern and historical maps, GIS data and resource links for archaeologists, novice cartographers and experienced GIS users – provided by the American School of Classical Studies at Athens

Historical geographic information about the ancient world in digital form – extensive coverage for the Greek and Roman world, expanding into Ancient Near Eastern, Byzantine, Celtic and Early Medieval geography

“This site allows scholars and students of classical Greek (and to some extent Roman) history to visualize data about Places (especially archaic and classical Greek city-states) and People (those famous enough to be included in a standard Classical dictionary) from two large data-sets, and to generate maps and simple statistical information from them.”

Articles on 5,000+ Greco-Roman sites

Links to digital projects dealing with ancient geography. “It has no pretensions of being complete or comprehensive, but is offered to give readers a sense of the range of materials currently accessible.”

Up-to-date onomastic data for the population of ancient Athens

Detailed lists of events and sources for the history of the Hellenistic world and the Roman republic, with links to online translations of many of the sources

“The beginnings of a collation of prosopographies of Greco-Roman and other Ancient persons/names, both digital and in print.”

(ed. Paul Halsall) – quick access to the full text of many primary sources

“A reading environment for pre-modern text collections in both their original languages and in translation. It is the first phase of work towards the next version of the Perseus Digital Library, Perseus 5.0” A brief user guide: Help with Ancient Texts: Perseus 5.0 Viewer Overview (The Library of Antiquity)

Online version of Liddell and Scott’s list (Access via the Wayback Machine)

Provides access to authors such as Homer, Hesiod, Plato, Aristotle, the Greek tragedians and orators that have traditionally been used in college level instruction of Greek. In addition it includes a large number of patristic texts. Access is free but users must create an account and login to the Abridged version.

Gives a logically grouped listing of abbreviations commonly found in dictionaries

Also available online as a scanned version at archive.org

Digitised lexica from the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae website (free website registration is required). At June 2020 these lexica are available:
Liddell-Scott-Jones (LSJ)
Cunliffe’s Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect
Powell's Lexicon to Herodotus
Lexikon zur Byzantinischen Gräzität (LBG)
S. Koumanoudes’ Συναγωγή νέων λέξεων

Provides simultaneous lookup of entries in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection.
Using Logeion: Quick Guide from the Kosmos Society, which is directed by Harvard University’s Center for Hellenic Studies
The Library of Antiquity has brief introductions here and here
The About ΛΟΓΕΙΟΝ page gives detailed guidance on using the database

Includes Liddell, Scott and Jones, A Greek-English Lexicon; Autenrieth, A Homeric Lexicon (experimental)

An analysis of particle use across five genres of ancient Greek discourse: epic, lyric, tragedy, comedy and historiography. Volume V is a searchable database available only online.

PDF handouts summarising Greek grammar.

Descriptive grammar of Greek. [Search the text]

Ancient Greek Tutorials @ AtticGreek.org – provides supplementary material to Mastronarde, 2nd ed. “Many parts of this site will be helpful, however, to anyone beginning or reviewing the study of ancient Greek with any textbook.”

Read online or download in PDF format. The Key (answers) to exercises is available online too.
The Library also holds the the title in print format.

An open-access textbook with “a series of Lessons and Exercises intended for students who have already covered most of an introductory course in the ancient Greek language. It aims to broaden and deepen students’ understanding of the main grammatical constructions of Greek. Further attention is given to grammatical forms to illustrate their functions.”

Includes links to H. W. Smyth’s Greek Grammar for more detailed explanations

Tips on the why and how of using the grammar; includes a link to a PDF version of the 1920 edition

Includes sound recordings of readings from Greek and Latin literature

Public-domain textbooks comprising grammars, readers and answer keys

Approaches to reading ancient texts in second-year courses and above.
There are later posts on the best ways to use the Perseus Project and addressing the language skills of forms, vocabulary and syntax

Inscriptions of ancient Athens and Attica in English translation

Electronic access to all the Homer’s texts in the original Greek. Includes English and German translations, e.g. Lattimore’s Iliad, Daryl Hine’s translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss

“A collection of beautiful, inspiring and memorable passages from Greek and Latin literature, each with a translation so that anyone can enjoy them and share them”

A database of all the speeches presented in the Homeric epics, created by Dr. Deborah Beck, University of Texas at Austin

Epigraphic text and photographic databases; bibliography

“Seeks to present the textual transmission of the Homeric Iliad and Odyssey in a historical framework”

Explanation of citations from Jacoby’s Fragmente der Greichischen Historiker (FGrH)

Catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation. (Access via the Wayback Machine)

Open access to all the public-domain Loeb Classical Library volumes
Note: more recent editions are often held at UC Library in print format

(Duke Collaboratory for Classics Computing & the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World)
Aggregates and displays information from the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS), the Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri (DDbDP) and the Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis der griechischen Papyrusurkunden Ägyptens (HGV), as well as links to Trismegistos

Links to resources available online, mainly Greek:
– A searchable corpus of early Greek hexameter poetry
– Early Greek hexameter inscriptions
– Papyri
– Inscriptions

“A reading environment for pre-modern text collections in both their original languages and in translation. It is the first phase of work towards the next version of the Perseus Digital Library, Perseus 5.0” A brief user guide: Help with Ancient Texts: Perseus 5.0 Viewer Overview (The Library of Antiquity)

Aims at providing a flexible and robust web interface for exploring intertextual parallels. It is a collaborative project of the University at Buffalo, the University of Notre Dame and the University of Geneva.
Help in using this tool: Help with Research: Using Tesserae for Intertextuality, Part 1 continued in Part 2, Part 3 and Part 4 (The Library of Antiquity).

Website accompanying an exhibition at UC

Provides explanations for technical terms related to stemmatology, a discipline of classical and medieval philology aiming at understanding the historical evolution of textual traditions

Brief entries about figures in Greek mythology with images.

Ancient texts and images concerning the major figures of Greek mythology available on the Web

Extensive, well-organised site; includes biographies of characters (complete with sources), bibliographies of ancient authors' works, maps indexed by place name and a large collection of images

A companion website to Morford, Lenardon and Sham’s Classical Mythology, 9th ed. Includes glossaries of characters; words and phrases; maps. Access via the Wayback Machine.

The author’s podcast, websites, blog and publications, providing an entryway into social and religious life among Greeks, Romans, Jews, Christians and others in the Roman empire

“A site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art.” Searchable; includes names in Greek, family trees, images from vases, and quotations from a variety of Classical texts.

Website of the exhibition at the Teece Museum, May–October 2017. The accompanying book is held in the UC Library

Short informative essays and tips for Latin learners (access via the Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine)

A listing of dictionaries, grammar and syntax, texts, manuscripts and bibliographic resources. Compiled by Daniel Hadas, King’s College London

Online version of the Short Bibliography of the Latin Language and Literature (4th ed.). Click the “Index generalis” link

Gives a logically grouped listing of abbreviations commonly found in dictionaries

Provides simultaneous lookup of entries in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection.
Using Logeion: Quick Guide from the Kosmos Society, which is directed by Harvard University’s Center for Hellenic Studies
The Library of Antiquity has brief introductions here and here
The About ΛΟΓΕΙΟΝ page gives detailed guidance on using the database

Includes links to Allen and Greenough’s New Latin Grammar for more detailed explanations

Introduction.

See also Vocabulary Study with Mnemosyne software

Includes sound recordings of readings from Greek and Latin literature

Public-domain textbooks comprising grammars, readers and answer keys

Approaches to reading ancient texts in second-year courses and above.
There are later posts on the best ways to use the Perseus Project and addressing the language skills of forms, vocabulary and syntax

Supplementary self-help resources can be found under “Wheelock Study Aids”

“A collection of beautiful, inspiring and memorable passages from Greek and Latin literature, each with a translation so that anyone can enjoy them and share them”

A searchable database of Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity

Latin texts and English translations (generally from older Loeb editions)

Epigraphic text and photographic databases; bibliography

A selection of ancient texts and modern reference works in the public domain

Latin texts, ancient and modern, in HTML format. The texts are not intended for research purposes, and include some typographical mistakes resulting from OCR scanning errors.

Open access to all the public-domain Loeb Classical Library volumes
Note: more recent editions are often held at UC Library in print format

“[This] digital archive of Latin poetry, from its origins to the Italian Renaissance, was established at the end of 2005 with the main goal of creating a singular database of Latin poetry, supported by a critical and exegetical electronic apparatus.” There is an overview by Amy Yarnell at The Library of Antiquity.

Includes Latin texts and translations

“A reading environment for pre-modern text collections in both their original languages and in translation. It is the first phase of work towards the next version of the Perseus Digital Library, Perseus 5.0” A brief user guide: Help with Ancient Texts: Perseus 5.0 Viewer Overview (The Library of Antiquity)

Aims at providing a flexible and robust web interface for exploring intertextual parallels. It is a collaborative project of the University at Buffalo, the University of Notre Dame and the University of Geneva.
Help in using this tool: Help with Research: Using Tesserae for Intertextuality, Part 1 continued in Part 2, Part 3 and Part 4 (The Library of Antiquity).

Basic information about grammar, syntax and diction; several commentaries; an apparatus criticus; help with scansion; and other resources

Texts, translations and other resources for Virgil, with many links to other sites

There is also a facsimile version via the Internet Archive

YouTube channel from the Digital Latin Library, arranged in sequence by AWOL – The Ancient World Online. Includes discussion of interpolation, examinatio, recensio, critical editions and apparatus criticus

Provides explanations for technical terms related to stemmatology, a discipline of classical and medieval philology aiming at understanding the historical evolution of textual traditions

Website accompanying an exhibition at UC

Website accompanying an exhibition at UC

“The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. Articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.”

SEP “organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work”.

A continually updated bibliography, edited by Robin Smith (Texas A&M University)

Project investigating provincial coins in the Roman Empire. The website includes a database of raw data generated by the project

A scholarly project that has produced an "Imperial Index" (either chronological or alphabetical) of all Roman and Byzantine emperors (and many pretenders [e.g. Nymphidius Sabinus, Septimius Vaballathus]) up to the fall of Constantinople. Those figures in the index for whom profiles have been completed are hyperlinked to biography files, each featuring an image of the subject (head or bust, coin or statue)

A well-organised site with considerable detail on each period, and on many aspects of society, religion and the army. Includes maps, timelines and images. Archived version on the Wayback Machine.

A selection of ancient texts and modern reference works in the public domain

“This is a site for exploring the Column of Trajan as a sculptural monument. The core of the site is a searchable database of over 500 images focusing on various aspects of the design and execution of the column's sculptural decoration. These images (slides and drawings) were generated by and for sculptor Peter Rockwell, over the course of his study of Roman stone-carving practices.” Archived version via the Wayback Machine; internal search engine is non-functional.

    ○  AWMC Interactive
        To find places, click the “Launch AWMC Interactive” link (bottom of webpage) and the Search button (button at top right).
    ○  Maps – includes freely downloadable maps of the ancient world.

Volume 1 of The History of Cartography, edited by J.B. Harley and David Woodward.
Also held at UC Library in print format.

Numerous good-quality thematic maps covering Classical Greece, the Hellensitc World and Roman Republic, Principate and Empire and Late Antiquity

Historical geographic information about the ancient world in digital form – extensive coverage for the Greek and Roman world, expanding into Ancient Near Eastern, Byzantine, Celtic and Early Medieval geography

Articles on 5,000+ Greco-Roman sites

Latin Place Names and their vernacular equivalents

Links to digital projects dealing with ancient geography. “It has no pretensions of being complete or comprehensive, but is offered to give readers a sense of the range of materials currently accessible.”

A digitised version of the work by Samuel Ball Platner, London: Oxford University Press, 1929

Detailed lists of events and sources for the history of the Hellenistic world and the Roman republic, with links to online translations of many of the sources

A comprehensive, searchable database of all known members of the upper strata of Roman society created to facilitate prosopographical research into the elite of the Roman Republic, its structure, scale and changes in composition over time.

“The beginnings of a collation of prosopographies of Greco-Roman and other Ancient persons/names, both digital and in print.”

(ed. Paul Halsall) – quick access to the full text of many primary sources

A selection of ancient texts and modern reference works in the public domain

“A reading environment for pre-modern text collections in both their original languages and in translation. It is the first phase of work towards the next version of the Perseus Digital Library, Perseus 5.0” A brief user guide: Help with Ancient Texts: Perseus 5.0 Viewer Overview (The Library of Antiquity)

Includes Student Resources to accompany the textbook

Online Roman legal texts, including most of the Justinianic and Pre-Justinianic texts and all the major surviving legal works from the 2nd to 6th centuries CE

A companion website to Morford, Lenardon and Sham’s Classical Mythology, 9th ed. Includes glossaries of characters; words and phrases; maps. Access via the Wayback Machine.

The author’s podcast, websites, blog and publications, providing an entryway into social and religious life among Greeks, Romans, Jews, Christians and others in the Roman empire

Website of the exhibition at the Teece Museum, May–October 2017. The accompanying book is held in the UC Library

“A resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world.”
Use this November 2024 capture by the Internet Archive if Diotíma site is down

Lists studies concerning women, gender and related subjects in the ancient cultures of Anatolia, Syria, Mesopotamia and Iran

“A resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world.”
Use this November 2024 capture by the Internet Archive if Diotíma site is down

“A collection of papyri from 4th C BCE to 4th C CE”

A rich collection textual and archaeological materials to accompany the textbook

Lists studies concerning women, gender and related subjects in the ancient cultures of Anatolia, Syria, Mesopotamia and Iran

Designed to digitise and explore the social, political and economic histories of women in the Roman Near East through the use of the latest digital humanities tools, with a wide range of sources such as literary texts, inscriptions and figurines.

A research project that investigates the performance of ancient texts in any medium and any period, from Greek tragedy to Roman epic, from stage to screen, from antiquity to the present day

Links to images of the ancient stage available on the Internet. Access via the Wayback Machine.

Online version of Liddell and Scott’s list (Access via the Wayback Machine)

Catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation. (Access via the Wayback Machine)

“A reading environment for pre-modern text collections in both their original languages and in translation. It is the first phase of work towards the next version of the Perseus Digital Library, Perseus 5.0” A brief user guide: Help with Ancient Texts: Perseus 5.0 Viewer Overview (The Library of Antiquity)