Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

English Literature: 19th Century Literature

A guide for UC students and staff

Reference

Victorian culture and society : the essential glossary / Adam C. Roberts, 2003. 
Central Library, Level 10, DA 550 .R643 2003

Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era /ed. James Eli Adams. 
Central Library, Level 10, DA 550 .E561 2004

The 1890s : an encyclopedia of British literature, art, and culture / ed. G.A. Cevasco, 1993.
Central Library, Level 10, DA 560 .E34

The Longman companion to Victorian fiction / John Sutherland, 1988.
Central Library, Level 4, PR 871 .S966
Biographical entries include those for minor authors, illustrators, editors, reviewers, and publishers. Plot synopses for 600 novels, and entries on various genres.

The Stanford companion to Victorian fiction / John Sutherland. 1989.
Central Library, Level 4, PR 871 .S966

British historical facts : 1830-1900 / Chris Cook and Brendan Keith, 1975.
Central Library, Level 10, DA 560 .C771

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography from earliest times to the year 2000 / eds H.C.G. Matthew and Brian Harrison , 2004.
Central Library, Level 10, CT 773 .D554 2004

Reference Sources for individual authors

Charles Dickens A to Z : the essential reference to his life and work / Paul Davis, 1998.
Central Library, Level 4, PR 4580 .D263

All indexes to the works of Charles Dickens

Cambridge bibliography of English literature , vol. 4 1800-1900
Central Library, Level 4, PR 83 .C178 1999 - Lists every known work and edition for authors including very minor ones. Also lists writers by category eg Unitarians, writers of household books. recommended for higher level research

Journals on 19thC literature

Links

British Poetry 1780-1910
Hypertext archive of scholarly editions.

Literary Resources: Victorian British
Annotated collection of links. Part of the Literature Resources Collection, by Jack Lynch at Rutgers University.

Victorian Web
Literature, history, religion and culture. Encyclopedic articles on events, movements, and themes; includes bibliographies.

Victoria Research Web
Information and links to help with the research process, particularly in British libraries, and especially concerning historical data.

Victorian Women Writers Project
Includes anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama. Searchable.

British Library: Collect Britain
Browse issues of the Penny Illustrated Paper, view late Victorian photographs, look at examples of fashion and advertising... The curators of various collections at the BL present their choices of interesting samples from a variety of different media.

John Clare Page
Edited by Simon Kövesi, Oxford Brookes University. Includes online editions of Clare's poetry, index to the Clare Society Journal, bibliographies and selected critical essays (full-text).

Useful Databases

Biography & Criticism

These books give biographical information on the author, list all his/her works, provide excepts of criticism and suggest books for further study.

Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
Central Library, Level 4, PN 92 .N714
Volumes in this set give biographical information on the author, list all his/her works, and provide a large number of critical articles ranging in date from the 19th century to modern scholarship. NB: For authors not listed below, use the Author Index near the back of Vol. 88 to locate the entries (LC---) for that author.
For material on: See volume(s):
Elizabeth Barrett Browning 170
Robert Browning 79, 19
John Clare 86, 9
Lewis Carroll 139, 53, 2
Charles Darwin 57
Charles Dickens 161
Christina Rossetti 66, 50, 2
Mary Shelley 170, 103, 59, 14
William Thackeray 169, 43, 22, 14, 5


British poets, 1880-1914 / ed. Donald E. Stanford. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., 1983
Central Library, Level 4, PR 581 .B862

Victorian prose writers before 1867/ ed. William B. Thesing. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, 1987.
Central Library, Level 4, PR 781 .V645

Victorian prose writers after 1867 / ed. William B. Thesing. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, 1987.
Central Library, Level 4, PR 781 .V6451

Romantic literature : a guide to romantic literature, 1780-1830 / edited by Geoff Ward.
Central Library, Level 4, PR 468 .R65 .R759

Bibliographies

Bibliographies

Bibliographies list the all the known books, chapters in books and journal articles about a writer and his /her works. There are also bibliographies which cover particular topics or themes. Search tip: Subject Keyword: [name of author] bibliography

Multi-author bibliographies

Cambridge bibliography of English literature, vol. 4, 1800-1900
Central Library, Level 4, PR 83 .C178 1999
Lists all known works and editions by 19thC authors, including items in anthologies. Genre categories include political, scientific and religious writing, household books, travel, sport, magazines, and book production.

Guide to British prose fiction explication : nineteenth and twentieth century / Lynn Beene. New York : G.K. Hall ; London : Prentice Hall International, 1997.
Central Library, Level 4, PR 861 .B414

Guide to British poetry explication / Nancy Martinez
Central Library, Level 4, PR 502 .M385 (volume 4 for Victorian)
Useful for finding criticism on a particular poem. Arranged by name of poet

Subject Guide

Elizabeth Cooke's picture
Elizabeth Cooke
Try enabling Javascript to view this chat, or email me if it's still not working.
Contact:
Level 5, Central Library, Puaka-James Hight
ext. 93898

Normal working hours: Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri 9am-1pm
Subjects:Arts

Primary Sources

19th Century Periodicals in the Library
Interactive list of all 19th century periodicals - literary and general interest.

The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900 / ed. Walter E. Houghton, 1966-1989. 
Central Library, Level 11, AI 3 .W451

The Curran Index
Additions to and corrections of The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals.

Poole's index to periodical literature / William Poole, 1938. 
Central Library, Level 11, AI 3 .P822

Indexes to fiction in 19th Century periodicals
(Indexes for individual periodicals)

Quartely Review Archive

Times Digital Archive 1735-1985
Full-text online

New York Times
1851-2001 full-text online

English Socialist periodicals, 1880-1900 : a reference source
Central Library, Level 8, HX 243 .M992 2005

Research Guides published in series

Victorian literature and culture

Victorian fiction research guides

Materials on microfilm

Manuscripts, diaries, early editions, advice manuals...

Gift books and literary annuals, 1823-1857

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)

Index of British books printed 1801-1919. Covers all books published in Britain, its colonies and the USA, all books in English wherever published, and all translations from English.
Ask at the Lending Desk for CD-ROM 02/27 (Info)

The Victorian Age : an anthology of sources and documents
Central Library, Level 10, DA 550 .G986

Human documents of the Victorian Golden Age / E. Royston Pike
Central Library, Level 8, HN 386 .H918

More sources

Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905
CD-ROM 02/30 (Info). Ask at the Lending Desk.

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers online (HCPP)