Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Subject Guides

English Literature: Australian Literature

A guide for UC students and staff

Reference sources

The Oxford companion to Australian literature / William H. Wilde, Joy Hooton, Barry Andrews. Melbourne : Oxford University Press, 1994.
Central Library, Level 4, PR 9402 .W672 1994

The Oxford Literary history of Australia /ed. Bruce Bennett and Jennifer Strauss. Melbourne : Oxford University Press, 1998.
Central Library, Lvevel 4, PR 9401 . O985
Places literary texts in the context of Australian history and culture. Five major parts are: to 1850, 1851-1914, 1914-1939, 1940-1965, and 1965 onwards. Includes a guide to reference material, chronology, and index.

Companion to theatre in Australia / ed. Philip Parsons. Sydney : Currency Press in association with Cambridge University Press, c1995.
Central Library, Level 4, PN 3011 .C737

Oxford Reference Online
Offers simultaneous searching of a number of reference books, including:

Biographical and critical material on authors

These books give biographical information on the author, list all his/her works, provide excepts of criticism and suggest books for further study.

A reader's guide to Australian fiction / Laurie Clancy.
Central Library, Level 4, PR 9402 .C587
Article on each author descirbing and discussing his/her works. Date range is Henry Savery (b.1791) to Tim Winton (b.1960).

Biographical Information

Books about an author

Use the author's name as a Subject Keyword search, eg

Bibliographies

Bibliographies list the all the known books, chapters in books and journal articles about a writer and his /her works. There are also bibliographies which cover particular topics. For multi-author bibliographies, use australian -- literature -- bibliography.

Links

Austlit
Resource for Australian Literature. Useful for identifying authors and titles.

Australian Literature on the Internet
Gateway site by the National Library of Australia

Australian Poetry Library

National Library of Australia

Australian Literary and Historical Texts
A collection of 300 texts provided by the University of Sydney Library. Search keyword, or browse alphabetically by author's name ,or by category.

Recommended databases

Databases for finding journal articles on and reveiws of Australian literature:

Journals in the Library

Read journal articles online via the Library

Journals on the web

Some electronic journals and other online resources for Australian literature and writing: