Encyclopedias and General Reference

The Cambridge history of the Pacific Ocean
Macmillan Brown Library, Pacific Collection (Not for loan) DU 28.3 .C1785 2023

The Cambridge history of the Pacific Islanders
Connect to electronic resource

Encyclopedia of world cultures vol 2: Oceania
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (not for loan) GN 307 .E56

The Pacific Islands: an encyclopedia
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (not for loan) DU 17 .E56 2000

The South Pacific
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (lending) HN 930.7 .C938 2008

Te Ara : the encyclopedia of New Zealand.
Connect to electronic resource

Who's who in Pacific navigation
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (not for loan) DU 19 .D922

Writers from the South Pacific : a bio-bibliographic critical encyclopedia
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (not for loan) Z 4501 .S592

This is a selection of some of our more recent or core Pacific language dictionaries. We have many more- ask a librarian for help finding them.

Cook Islands

Dictionary of Cook Islands Languages (online). Covers all the languages of the Cook Islands.

Cook Islands Maori dictionary with English-Cook Islands Maori finderlist.
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (Not for loan). PL 6499 .Z5 .B977 1996

Fiji

Fijian-English dictionary: With notes on Fijian culture and natural history
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (Not for loan) PL 6235.4 .G263 2009

Hawai'i

Hawaiian Dictionary (online) From Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library

Māmaka kaiao: A modern Hawaiian vocabulary: A compilation of Hawaiian words that have been created, collected, and approved by the Hawaiian Lexicon Committee from 1987 through 2000.
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (lending) PL 6446. M263 2003

Hawaiian dictionary : Hawaiian-English, English-Hawaiian
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (Not for loan). PL 6446 .P979 h 1986

Niue

Tohi vagahau Niue = Niue language dictionary: Vagahau Niue-English with English vagahau Niue wordlist
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (Library-use only).  PL 6481 .Z5 .T645 2022

Palau

Palauan Language Online: Kerresel a Klechibelau (online)

Kerresel a Klechibelau: Tekoi er a Belau me a Moesodel= Palauanlanguage lexicon. 
Macmillan Brown Library (Library use only).  PL 5434 .Z5 .R165 1999

Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea Tok Pisin English dictionary
Macmillan Brown Library, Pacific Collection (Not for loan) PM 7891 .Z5 .P218 2008

A dictionary of Koiari, Papua New Guinea, with grammar notes
Macmillan Brown Library (Library use only) PL 6621 .K65 .D977 2003

Dictionary of Kyaka Enga, Papua New Guinea 
Macmillan Brown Library (Library use only). PL 6621 .E5 .D766 2002

Samoa (see box below)

Tahiti

English-Tahitian, Tahitian-English dictionary = Fa'atoro parau marite/peretane-Tahiti, Tahiti-marite/peretane 
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (Not for loan). PL 6515 .Z5 .W137 2002

Tokelau

Tokelau Dictionary (Office of Tokelau Affairs, 1986) Online
And Macmillan Brown Library (Library use only). PL 6521 .Z5 .T646

Tonga

The student's English-Tongan and Tongan-English dictionary 
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (Not for loan). PL 6531 .Z5 .T475 2000

A simplified dictionary of modern Tongan
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (For loan). PL 6531 .Z5 .T915

Tuvalu

Tuvaluan dictionary : Tuvaluan-English, English-Tuvaluan
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (Not for loan). PL 6541 .Z5 .J12 2001

In the beginning was the word = Sā i le 'āmataga le 'Ūpu
Macmillan Brown Library, Pacific Collection (Not for loan) PL 6501 .Z5 .F33 2017

Tusi'upu Sāmoa: The Sāmoan dictionary of Papaāli'i Dr. Semisi Ma'ia'i.
Macmillan Brown Library, Pacific Collection (Not for loan) PL 6501 .Z5 .S471 2010

Samoan dictionary: Samoan-English, English-Samoan
Macmillan Brown Library, Pacific Collection (Not for loan) PL 6501 .Z5 .M659 1993

A Grammar and Dictionary of Samoan Language with English and Samoan Vocabulary (Pratt's Grammar and Dictionary, 1893 ed.)
Macmillan Brown Library, Pacific Collection (Not for loan) PL 6501 .P914 1893a

'O Si Manu A Ali'i: 'Aumua Mata'itusi Simanu. A Text for the Advanced Study of Samoan Language and Culture
Macmillan Brown Library, Pacific Collection (Not for loan) PL 6501 .P213 2002

Specialist Dictionaries and Glossaries

Saili Malo: Le Lomifefiloi Ile Ekalesia Kerisiano/ The Dictionary of the Christian Church
Macmillan Brown Library, Pacific Collection (Not for loan) BR 95 .A257 2016

Tusi'upu fa'afoma'i: Samoan medical glossary 
Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection (Library use only) R 121 .L591

Bilingual guide to understanding cancer-related terminologies in English and Samoan = Taʾiala mo le malamalamaʾaga i upu tau kanesa i le faaperetania ma le faasamoaMacmillan Brown Library
Macmillan Brown Library (Library use only) RC 262 .F264 2008

Proverbs

There are many collections of Samoan proverbial expressions, look at the subject Proverbs, Samoan