Key Health Databases

• CINAHL with Full Text Nursing and allied health database.
• PsycINFO Large psychology and psychiatry database. 
• Medline Contains journal article references and abstracts for biomedical literature.
• Cochrane Library A collection of databases that contain evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. 
• EMBASE Large biomedical database, provides greater coverage of European and International journals than Medline.
• PubMed Medicine and related disciplines 

When searching for Pacific health information you may need to try a combination of keywords. Useful broad terms might include some of the following: Pacific, Pasifika, Pasefika, Oceanic, Oceania, Melanesia, Micronesia, Polynesia. It is often also useful to search specific countries. The ISSG Search Filters Resource has a page on population group filters which includes indigenous populations and Pacific Islanders. 

For New Zealand information, also search Index New Zealand

See the Health Sciences subject guide for a full list of databases and to contact Margaret, the Health Sciences Librarian.

Pacific Health Journals

• Papua New Guinea Medical Journal
• Hūlili: Multidisciplinary Research on Hawaiian Well-Being
• Pacific Health
• Pacific Health Dialog
• Pacific Health Review
• Pacific Peoples Health

• AUT Pacific Health Research Centre. Pacific Islands Families Study.
• Pacific Public Health Surveillance Network (PPHSN). "Our goal is to improve public health surveillance and response in the Pacific Islands..."
• SPC Statistics for Development Division (SDD) 
• WHO Western Pacific Health Data Platform

Research repositories

• UC Research Repository Research on a wide range of topics
• NZResearch.org Research from universities, polytechnics and research organisations around New Zealand
• The Hub - Database of social science research undertaken or commissioned by the NZ Government
• TROVE (National Library of Australia)

Statistics can be found on a range of Government webpages including, Statistics New Zealand and the Ministry of Health.

• Ministry of Health: New Zealand health survey
• Pacific Data Fale

Figure.nz is a useful source of NZ statistics cumulated from a range of sources. See also the separate subject guide for New Zealand statistical resources

To find books on the health of Pacific people in New Zealand, search the catalogue using this subject heading.

For books on the health of Pacific people in other Pacific countries, search the catalogue using the name of the country and the word health

Etu Pasifika. Health, Wellbeing and Whānau Ora services serving Pacific families in the Canterbury Region

Le Va. "Our purpose is to support Pasifika families and communities to unleash their full potential and have the best possible health and wellbeing outcomes."

MANALAGI: Aotearoa Pacific Rainbow LGBTQIA+ MVPFAFF+ Health and Wellbeing Project

Moana Vā. " Established to identify and address the needs for mahu, vakasalewa, palopa, fa'afafine, akava'ine, fakeleiti, fakafifine communities in the Canterbury region.

Pasifika Medical Association.

Pasefika Proud

Tangata Atumotu Trust Delivering health and social services in Christchurch for over 20 years.

Tangata Moana Trust.

Vaka Tautua Canterbury. " A 'by Pacific, for Pacific' mental health, disability and social services provider.

Most books on traditional health and medicine and ethnobotany are listed by individual countries though some are listed under Oceania or Polynesia. To find them, do a Subject begins with search on these topics and scroll through the list of countries or regions:

• Medicinal Plants
• Ethnobotany
• Traditional Medicine

These subject headings are also useful:

• Healing - Oceania
• Pacific Islanders - Medicine
• Pacific Islanders Health and Hygiene
• Polynesians - Medicine

Consortium of Pacific Herbaria. Supporting databasing, digitization and data sharing of plant specimens. 

​For information on Covid19 for Pasifika communities, see the Government's Covid19 website.

This resource from USP also has information in multiple languages.

Sau, A. (2022). Ethical Challenges Among Nurses in Samoa: Workplace, Practice and Profession [Doctoral dissertation, Te Herenga Waka-Victoria University of Wellington]. Open Access. https://openaccess.wgtn.ac.nz/articles/thesis/Ethical_Challenges_Amon g_Nurses_in_Samoa_Workplace_Practice_and_Profession/19752985?file=35106619 

Fonofale

• Pulotu-Endemann, F. K. (2001). Fonofale Model of Health. More information is in this powerpoint.

Fonua

• Tu'itahi, S. Fonua: A Pasifika Model for Health Promotion. The original powerpoint by the author is not currently available. There is a summary of it on this Health Promotion Forum page.

Ola Lei 

• Panapa, T., park, J., Littleton, J. Chambers, A. & Chambers, K. (2021). Towards indigenous policy and practice: A Tuvaluan famework for wellbeing, Ola Lei. The Journal of the Polynesian Society 130(1).

• Panapa, T. (2014). Ola Lei: Developing healthy communities in Tuvalu [Doctoral thesis, Auckland University].

Paopao

• Paopao Tonga. (2009).Popao Model: Folau ki he mo'ui lelei- Journey to Wellness: A Pacific Recovery and Strength Concept in Mental Health

Te Vaka Atafaga

• Kupa, K. (2009). Te Vaka Atafaga: A Tokelau assessment model for supporting holistic mental health practice with Tokelau people in Aotearoa, New Zealand. Pacific Health Dialog 15(1).

Ūloa

• Ūloa: a Model of Practice for Working with Tongan People Experiencing Mental Distress/ Sione Vaka New Zealand Sociology, 31(2). 2016
• The effectiveness of ūloa as a model supporting Tongan people experiencing mental distress/ S. Vaka, H.P Hamer & A. Jesui-Henry. International Journal of Mental Health Nursing, 31. 2022

Uputātua

• Seiuli, B. M. S. (2013). Counselling psychology from a Samoan perspective. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 42(3), 50-58

• Health Research Council of New Zealand. Pacific Health Research Guidelines. (2014).
• Development of a PARcific approach: Participatory action research methodology for collectivist health research. 2022
• Lovo, E., Woodward, L., Larkins, S., Preston, R., & Baba, U. N. (2021). Indigenous knowledge around the ethics of human research from the Oceania region: A scoping literature review. Philosophy, Ethics and Humanities in Medicine, 16(1), 12-12.

• ‘O le Toe Ulutaia: A Bibliography of Pasifika and Psychology Research (2017)
• Bingham, T. (2009). Bibliography: Pasifika social work in New Zealand 1990-2008.
• Ryan D., Grey C., Mischewski B. (2019). Tofa Saili: A review of evidence about health equity for Pacific Peoples in New Zealand. Pacific Perspectives.
• Capstick, S., Norris, P., Sopoaga, F., & Tobata, W. (2009). Relationships between health and culture in Polynesia- A review. Social Science & Medicine, 68(7), 1341-1348.

New Zealand Government
Some key documents:

• Te Mana Ola: The Pacific Health Strategy (2023) from the Ministry of Health
• Ola Manuia: Pacific Health and Wellbeing Action Plan 2020-2025 from Manatū Ora | Ministry of Health
• Te Kaveinga: Mental health and wellbeing of Pacific peoples: Results from the New Zealand Mental Health Monitor & Health and Lifestyles Survey (2018) from the Health Promotion Agency
• Pacific Wellbeing Strategy: Weaving all-of-Government: Progressing Lalanga Fou (2022)
• Pacific Aotearoa Lalanga Fou (2018)
• National Pacific Disability Action Plan (in progress 2024)

Health Research Council (HRC)

• Pacific Health Research
• Pacific Health Research Guidelines 2014

The Manalagi Project. Enhancing the mana of Pacific Rainbow LGBTQIA+ MVPFAFF+ communities in Aotearoa New Zealand through research.

• Manalagi Survey Community Report. 
• Manalagi Repository

Ministry of Health

• Pacific health - information about the work of the Ministry to achieve health and wellbeing for Pacific peoples
• Pacific Health Resources links to Ministry publications and other material relating to Pacific health.

Ministry of Social Development
- see Pacific peoples for publications

Pasefika Proud
- have links to reports on a very wide range of wellbeing issues for many Pasifika communities in Aotearoa.

Te Whatu Ora: Health New Zealand
-see the Canterbury site here: Community & Public Health Canterbury Pacific Health & Wellbeing

Other organisations and other sources of information

Pacific Research (University of Auckland)

Health Promotion Forum of New Zealand Provides information and resources to those working in health promotion. Includes a section on Pacific health resources.

Ryan D., Grey C., Mischewski B. (2019). Tofa Saili: A review of evidence about health equity for Pacific Peoples in New Zealand. Pacific Perspectives.

Bibliographies

These two works provide a comprehensive introduction to the literature on Pasifika mental health:

• FiaʾAliʾi, J., Manuela, S. (2017). ʻO le toe ulutaia: A bibliography of Pasifika and psychology research. School of Psychology, University of Auckland

• Kapeli, S. A., Manuela, S., & Sibley, C. G. (2020). Understanding Pasifika mental health in New Zealand: A review of the literature. MAI Journal, 9(3), 249-271

To find individual articles from the bibliographies, copy the titles into Multisearch and follow the links. Contact us if you have difficulty accessing any.

Reports

• 'Ala Mo'ui: Pathways to Pacific health and wellbeing 2014-2018 (2014) Sets out the strategic direction to address health needs of Pacific peoples.
• He Ara Oranga: Report of the Government enquiry into mental health and addiction (2018) Includes Pasifika voices and suggestions on how to support the Pacific community. See:
• Chapter 3.5 What we think: Vai nui: Pacific health and wellbeing.
• Summary of Pacific submissions: Mental health enquiry: Pacific report: New visions, collective decisions.
• Executive summary in Samoan.
• Pacific peoples and mental health (2008) A paper for the Pacific Health and Disability Action Plan Review. 
• Te Kaveinga- Mental health and wellbeing of Pacific People (2018) Presents results from the New Zealand Mental Health Monitor and Health and Lifestyles Survey related to the health of Pacific People.
   
• Pasefika Proud have links to reports on a very wide range of wellbeing issues for many Pasifika communities in Aotearoa.
   

Organisations and Government Departments

• Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand, search Pacific or individual countries for reports, news and statistics.
• Individual District Health Boards
• • Counties Manukau Health Faletoa (Pacific Mental Health), information about the Pacific Faletoa clinic in Otuhuhu.
  • Counties Manukau District Health Board, Pacific mental health and addictions implementation plan 2008-201
• The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists. Pacific Mental Health in Aotearoa New Zealand. Position Statement. (2022)
   

Other Resources

• Enari, D., & Vaka, S. (2024). Pacific youth well-being: Diaspora perspectives. Mai Journal, 13(1), 151-155)
• Fa’alogo-Lilo, C., & Cartwright, C. (2021). Barriers and Supports Experienced by Pacific Peoples in Aotearoa New Zealand’s Mental Health Services. Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology, 52(8–9), 752–770. 
  Includes a short section on traditional Pacific worldviews and perspectives on mental health issues.
• Meredith, N. (2018). Digital Talanoa: Exploring 360º video as a digital tool to enable Pacific's youth mental wellbeing [Doctoral dissertation, Auckland University of Technology].
• Mulipola, T. I., Holroyd, E., & Vaka, S. (2023). Using Fa’afaletui to explore Samoan consumers’ experience and interpretation of mental health person-centred care in Aotearoa, New Zealand. International Journal of Mental Health Nursing, 32(2), 513–523. 
•  O le tōfā mamao – A Sāmoan Conceptual Framework for addressing family violence 2012
• Paterson, J., Tautolo, E. S., Iusitini, L., & Sisk, R. (2018). Cultural, individual, and familial risk and protective factors associated with depressive symptoms in Pacific youth living in New Zealand. Social Work in Mental Health, 16(6), 725-742.
• Samuel, S. (2008). Te 'are tūrama o Mao'a: The inspiring home of Mao'a: An alternative approach to mental health assessment and recovery. Cook Islands Health Network Association.
• Savaii, K. P. (2018). Pacific youth "romantic" relationships and wellbeing [Doctoral dissertation, Auckland University of Technology].
• Tiatia-Seath, J. (2014). Pacific peoples, mental health service engagement and suicide prevention in Aotearoa New Zealand. Ethnicity and Inequalities in Health and Social Care, 7(3), 111-121. 
• Tiatia-Seath, J. (2017). Negotiating personhood in light of Pacific suicide prevention. In U. L. Vaai & U. NaboboBaba (Eds.), In The relational self: Decolonising personhood in the Pacific (pp. 79-101). The University of the South Pacific & The Pacific Theological College.
• Tiatia-Seath, S., Lay Yee, R., & Von Randow, M. (2017). Suicide mortality among Pacific peoples in New Zealand, 1996–2013. New Zealand Medical Journal, 130(1454), 21-29.
• Tucker-Masters, L., & Tiatia-Seath, J. (2017).  Reviewing the literature on anxiety and depression in Pacific youth: A fresh perspective. New Zealand Medical Students Journal, 25, 24-28.
• Vaka, S., Holroyd, E., Neville, S., & Cammock, R. (2022). Comparing and contrasting Tongan youth and service users’ interpretations of mental distress. Journal of Mental Health, 31(2), 166–171. 
• Vaka, S., Neville, S., & Holroyd, E. (2020). An ethnic interpretation of mental distress from the perspective of Tongan men and community leaders. International Journal of Mental Health Nursing, 29(5), 953–961. https://doi.org/10.1111/inm.12732
• Verbiest, M., Borrell, S., Dalhousie, S., Tupa'i-Firestone, R., Funaki, T., Goodwin, D., ... & Jiang, Y. (2018). A Co-Designed, Culturally-Tailored mHealth Tool to Support Healthy Lifestyles in Māori and Pasifika Communities in New Zealand: Protocol for a Cluster Randomized Controlled Trial. JMIR Research Protocols, 7(8).
   
• Preventing suicide for Pasifika - top 5 tactics (2014) from Pasifika support organisation Le Va.
   

Pacific Mental Health Models
See the top box for Pacific health and wellbeing models.

Personal evidence from Pacific people given to the Royal Commission can be listened to online: 
Public hearings: Tulou: Our Pacific voices: Tatala e Pulonga. 
Warning: Much of the content presented at the hearing covers details of abuse that may raise difficult emotional issues. 

For friendly, specialist help with finding health information, contact Margaret Paterson the Health Sciences Subject Librarian.