Critically examine the concept of community engagement within tertiary studies and how this concept is being implemented in Australian, Canadian, New Zealand, U.K., and U.S. tertiary institutions.
Macmillan Brown Library is a research collection of New Zealand and
Pacific Islands materials, including photographs, archives and
manuscripts. It also holds materials on Maori language, history and
culture.
Here is a sample of the sources held in Macmillan Brown that are relevant to CHCH101
Documentary archive collection - the Library holds over 4000 linear metres of archival material relating to Canterbury individuals and organisations, including a significant amount of material from volunteer groups and groups active in social change and records from University groups such as the the UCSA.
Waitangi Collection - focuses on material produced by, generated from, and about the Waitangi Tribunal and the Treaty of Waitangi.
Ngāi Tahu Collection - material about Ngāi Tahu’s history, traditions, myths and legends, and the Ngāi Tahu Claim.
Sociology Life Story essays - many are about people involved in voluntary and civic organisations.
Architectural
Drawings - the Library holds over 100,000 architectural drawings,
covering the history of the built environment in Canterbury and Westland from
the late 19th century to the modern day. The collection includes plans for many buildings damaged in the Christchurch earthquakes.
Photograph collection
- the library has over 50 000 photographs, including many historic images of Christchurch streets
and buildings
Local histories of Christchurch suburbs
Published histories of Christchurch businesses and organisations
Books on the history of the University of Canterbury
All the issues of Canta and other student publications
Newsletters and publications from organisations such as Volunteering Canterbury
Books on the natural history of Canterbury
Macmillan Brown Library and Community Engagement
The Macmillan Brown Library plays a significant role in the University's community engagement. The collections can be used by members of the public and visitors. Following the Canterbury earthquakes, the MB Library is contributing to the Christchurch recovery and rebuild in a number of ways:
Providing access to architectural drawings for architects, engineers, homeowners and architectural historians
MB Library staff are members of the Canterbury Disaster Salvage Team, a volunteer group of Christchurch heritage professionals who have significant
experience in responding to disasters and who have developed assessment and response
systems that have proved extremely helpful to institutions in disaster recovery.
Supplying historic images for research and publication for historians and also for those wanted to contribute their ideas for the rebuild of Christchurch.
Collaborating with staff from other libraries, museums and archives to collect and care for earthquake related material for future access and research.
