Employment Law | Occupational Safety Law and ACC

---

Finding New Zealand Employment Law Resources

 

Understand Your Topic

The first step in approaching any assignment is to make sure you understand the topic. Identify the main concepts and legal issues in your question to help you develop a search strategy.

Start by using the employment law section of The Laws of New Zealand for background information

Find Journal Articles

• Use Linxplus or LegalTrac to find journal articles on employment law
• Use the catalogue to find employment law journals held by the Law Library from all jurisdictions

Find Case Law

• Use one of the employment law databases to locate case law related to employment law
• Employment Court of New Zealand – Judgments

Find Legislation

• Employment Relations Act 2000
• Or use one of the employment law databases to locate other relevant legislation
• Westlaw NZ Legislation contains all current legislation.

Find Websites

New Zealand

• Employment New Zealand
  • Employment law database – summaries of cases from the Employment Relations Authority (ERA), Employment Court and related jurisdictions since 1976; full text of determinations of the ERA since 2005.
  • Employment relations info-line – Department of Labour's Employment Relations Service
• Employment Relations Authority
• Equal Employment Opportunities (EEO) Trust
• New Zealand Council of Trade Unions (CTU)
• Privacy Commissioner
• State Services Commission

Overseas

• Adam Conti's Internet law office (US)
• British employment law
• Cornell Law Library (LII) – Employment law (US)
• Employment Appeal Tribunal (UK)
• Industrial Law Journal – hosted by Oxford University Press (UK)
• International Labour Organization (ILO)
• OECD – Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
• Society for Human Resource Management (US)

Finding Occupational Safety and ACC Law Resources

Understand your topic

The first step in approaching any assignment is to make sure you understand the topic. Identify the main concepts and legal issues in your question to help you develop a search strategy.

Start by using the ACC and the Employment sections of The Laws of New Zealand for background information

Find Journal Articles

• Use Linxplus or LegalTrac to find journal articles
li>Use the Library catalogue to find ACC law journals and occupational safety journals

Find Case Law

• Use one of the employment law databases to locate case law related to ACC and occupational safety law

Find Legislation

• Health and Safety at Work Act 2015
• Injury Prevention Rehabilitation and Compensation Amendment Act 2008
• Or use one of the employment law databases to locate other relevant legislation
• Westlaw NZ Legislation contains all current legislation.

Find Websites

• ACC (Accident Compensation Corporation)
• Health and Disabilities Commissioner