Subject Guides: Pacific Law: Journal Articles

Resources

Journal articles often provide up-to-date information on very discrete topics, and can provide alternative views on a topic.

There are three ways to find journal articles:

1. by looking at individual journals

2. via a citation from another source (e.g. a footnote or a bibliography)

3. by searching a database or journal article index using a keyword or keywords

How much information you have determines your starting point.

There are a number of journals on Pacific Law.

These include:

Asian-Pacific Law & Policy Journal
Provides a forum for the presentation and discussion of legal, policy-based and socio-economic issues that affect East Asia and Polynesia, the individual nations of those regions and Australia.
Journal of Samoan studies
This journal is more wide ranging than law, but covers a range of Samoan history and issues
Journal of South Pacific Law
Lawasia Journal
Published in association with the Faculty of Law and the Centre for Southeast Asian Law, Northern Territory University.
Melanesian Law Journal
The journal, as a matter of policy, publishes articles or other material relating to Papua New Guinea and the South Pacific region. However, articles dealing with general legal/jurisprudential issues having an international or comparative appeal will also be published from time to time.
Pacific Law Digest
Not currently published
Pacific Rim Law & Policy Journal

These databases provide a broad range of journal articles, but not always the full text of the article.

Linxplus This link opens in a new window
AGIS Plus Text This link opens in a new window
Primarily Australian content, but NZ and UK as well (1975 to present).

LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Has North American, European, British, Australian and some New Zealand content (1980 to present).

Cambridge Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by Cambridge University Press. Covers humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Register to receive alerts regarding articles of interest as well as tables of contents for journals of interest.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in many subjects.
The Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I-XII, Biological Sciences, Business III-IV, Health & General Sciences Collections and 19th Century British Pamphlets. Title lists
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Westlaw International This link opens in a new window
Legal resources including state and federal cases, statutes, rules of evidence, rules of procedure. Selected case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties and directories organised by topical and international regional libraries.

If you cannot find what you need, please contact Theresa Buller.

You can: