Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Subject Guides

Systematic Reviews: Grey Literature

New Zealand Sources of Grey Literature

StatsNZ

ACC Injury Statistics

NZResearch research papers and related resources from New Zealand universities, polytechnics and research organisations

data.govt.nz an all-of-government website containing bringing together published data from multiple agencies

Ministry of Health and the Grey Matter newsletter

Best Practice Advocacy Centre New Zealand (bpacNZ) useful for drug information and laboratory tests

PHARMAC New Zealand government funding agency for medicines

Preprint Repositories

ArXiv preprint archive of over 2 million articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science

BioRxiv preprint database for biology

F1000 Research open access publishing platform for scientists, scholars and clinicians. Any researcher can upload outputs here. Uses a transparent peer review process

Figshare search for poster presentions, datasets etc

IDEAS

OSF

SSRN

Zenodo

Grey Literature for Business and Economics

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)

World Trade Organization (WTO) - Documents and Resources

OECDiLbrary

World Bank

Bank for International Settlements

Adams, R. J., Smart, P., & Huff, A. S. (2017). Shades of grey: Guidelines for working with the grey literature in systematic reviews for management and organizational studies. International Journal of Management Reviews, 19(4), 432–454. https://doi.org/10.1111/ijmr.12102

Grey Literature for Health

Grey Matters (CADTH) an extensive list of grey literature sources for health

TRiP a search engine for clinical evidence. TRiP simultaneously searches systematic reviews, guidelines, ongoing clinical trials, as well as millions of articles.

National Grey Literature Collection Health Education England

WHO

Clinical trial registers

Antidote University of York guide to finding clinical trials, research registers and research results. 

ClinicalTrials.gov

WHO International clinical trials registry

ISRCTN registry

ANZCTR (Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry)

ICTRP (International Clinical Trials Registry Platform)

EU Clinical Trials Register

mRCT (metaRegister of Controlled Trials)

Practice guidelines

National Guideline Clearing House [NGC closed in 2018]

SIGN Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network

NICE National Institute for Health and Care Excellence Guidelines

Statistics

WHO data

National Center for Health Statistics - CDC

Global Cancer Observatory

World Bank Health Data

General sources of grey literature

OpenGrey

GreyNet 

OSF Preprints (Open Science Framework). Can be used to search for preprints and documents in a range of repositories, including: arXiv, bioRxiv, Cogprints, EdArXiv, PeerJ, Preprints.org, PsyArXiv, SportRxiv, Thesis commons.

Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR) - Browse and search through thousands of registered repositories

BASE Bielefeld Academic Search Engine large search engine for academic web resources. Provides access to over 240 million documents - full text access to around 60% of the content is available.

CORE collection of open access research papers

WorldCat

Dissertations and Theses

See the Find Theses subject guide

Conference Proceedings

Conference proceedings can be found via several Library databases. In Medline add a subject search for Congress to your topic search. Scopus and PsycINFO also contain some conference proceedings.