Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library access in Delta Alert Level 2
All branches of the Library are open to UC staff and students.
Make sure you have your Canterbury Card with you, and wear a mask. You will also be required to scan QR codes when entering certain spaces.
Online services continue to be available as usual.
More information can be found on our Covid Alert Level 2 tab on our website.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) Reproduces works printed between 1473-1700 from Pollard and Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short-title catalogue, the Thomason Tracts, and Early English Tract Supplement.
Humanities International Complete Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) and full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Index New Zealand Multidisciplinary coverage of material published in and about New Zealand and the Pacific Islands.
JSTOR Full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in many subjects. Does not include current journal issues; content is updated according to a "moving wall" process.
Literature Online (LION) Works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
MLA International Bibliography Literature, language, linguistics and folklore
Project Muse Standard Collection Full-text access to humanities, arts and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers from 1993 onwards
eTV Broadcast television programmes from a range of channels (not comprehensive).
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Location of English literature books in the Library
English literature theses on the UC Research Repository
Welcome to the English Literature Subject Guide
The Library has a huge range of resources available to English literature students. Ask your Subject Librarian for help in using any of these.
Canterbury poet’s letters added to NZ heritage collection
A collection of artworks, personal papers and more than 1200 letters written to poet and artist Ursula Bethell have been inscribed on the UNESCO Memory of the World New Zealand documentary heritage register. Ursula Bethell was a Canterbury poet and painter, and her letters, manuscripts, and paintings are held in the Macmillan Brown Library. The register highlights significant documentary heritage as a way of demonstrating the importance of preserving and providing access to all documentary heritage. This collection is the sole item added to a UNESCO heritage register this year.
The Library has digitised 75 paintings by Bethell, and photographs of her, which can be viewed via Kā Kohika.
Adulterous Nations by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
In Adulterous Nations, Tatiana Kuzmic enlarges our perspective on the nineteenth-century novel of adultery, showing how it often served as a metaphor for relationships between the imperialistic and the colonized. In the context of the long-standing practice of gendering nations as female, the novels under discussion here-George Eliot's Middlemarch, Theodor Fontane's Effi Briest, and Leo Tolstoy's Anna Karenina, along with August Senoa's The Goldsmith's Gold and Henryk Sienkiewicz's Quo Vadis- can be understood as depicting international crises on the scale of the nuclear family.
Reconsidering the Emergence of the Gay Novel in English and German by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
In Reconsidering the Emergence of the Gay Novel in English and German, James P. Wilper examines a key moment in the development of the modern gay novel by analyzing four novels by German, British, and American writers. Wilper studies how the texts are influenced by and respond and react to four schools of thought regarding male homosexuality in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.