Subject Guides: Health Sciences: Home

Key Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health database
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Large psychology and psychiatry database. Coverage includes journal articles, books, reports, theses and conference proceedings

Medline Contains journal article references and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE This link opens in a new window Large biomedical database, provides greater coverage of European and International journals than Medline
PubMed This link opens in a new window Medicine and related disciplines
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Full text database of books, encyclopedias and other reference works relating to research methodology
Scopus Multidisciplinary, especially Life, Health and Physical Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window Full text journal content, reference works and dissertations.
Date range: 1987--
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window Evidence-based information for health professionals to support clinical decision-making
Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window detailed descriptions of over 1,700 procedures and skills in nursing, complete instructions to perform procedures, video clips and images to clarify complex procedures, and quick lists provide a quick, less-detailed version of procedures

Other databases

- TRiP Database Medical search engine for evidence based medicine

- MedlinePlus Database of consumer health information

- COVID-19 Global literature on coronavirus disease A comprehensive database of health literature related to the COVID-19 pandemic compiled by WHO and Global Health

DigitalNZ Access to over 30 million digital items from NZ libraries, museums, govt depts, publicly funded organisations, media and community groups

Overton searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers

This guide is a pathfinder to Health Science resources at UC. Navigate by using the tabs above. Quick links:

Help with literature searching (either quick or comprehensive searches)

Preliminary scoping search

Conducting a literature search

Documenting your searches

Locating full text

Referencing (including use of EndNote)

Email Me

Contact:

Central Library

tel:3693921 (internal 93921)

Subjects: Health, Science