Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Subject Guides

6. Measure Impact: Impact Metrics Tools

Tools

Description

Article Metrics

Author Metrics

Journal Metrics

Key Database for author metrics.

SciVal, a web-based analytics solution, allows you to visualize your research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop strategic partnerships, identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports. To access please use your Scopus account or register for an account. See SciVal's Research Metrics Guidebook for more information.

No

Total Citations

Citations per publication

Publications in top journals

Publications in top 10% of most cited worldwide

h-index

h5-index

FWCI

CiteScore

SJR

SNIP

Citations per publication

FWCI

 

 

                                      

Scopus is a multidisciplinary database for finding scholarly material that can be used to find a large variety of metrics including the field normalised metrics: Field-Weighted Citation Index (FWCI), for articles, and the Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) for journals. It can be used in conjunction with SCImago when identifying high impact journals and includes PlumX alternative metrics.

Citation Count

FWCI

PlumX

Total Citations

h-index

CiteScore

SJR

SNIP

Dimensions is a linked research knowledge system that re-imagines discovery and access to research. Developed by Digital Science in collaboration with over 100 leading research organizations around the world, Dimensions brings together grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents and policy documents to deliver a platform that enables users to find and access the most relevant information faster, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy. For more information about the product have a look at our support site or visit https://dimensions.ai

Dimensions is a multidisciplinary database for finding scholarly material that can be used to find a large variety of metrics including the field normalised article metrics: Field Citation Ratio (FCR) and the Relative Citation Ratio (RCR). Dimensions also includes Altmetrics alternative metrics.

Citation Count

FCR

RCR

Altmetrics

Total Citations

SJR

SNIP

Google Scholar is a very broad multidisciplinary database that can be used to track article citations and author impact metrics. It allows researchers to set up their own profile and curate it.

Citation Count

Total Citations

h-index

i10-index

No

Publish or Perish (software)

Publish or Perish is free software that can access data from a range of sources including, Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic, and can produce a large variety of different author impact metrics.

No

h-index

and a large range of other author metrics

No

SCImago is a journal ranking database that utilises Scopus data. It's is useful for identifying highly ranked Journals to publish in. It can be used in conjunction with Scopus when identifying high impact journals.

No

No

Journal h-index

SJR

Altmetrics can be accessed via Dimensions database and includes a variety of alternative metrics such as social media shares, blog posts and news mentions.

Altmetrics

No

No

PlumX Metrics can be accessed via Scopus database and includes a variety of alternative metrics such as social media shares, blog posts and news mentions.

PlumX

No

No

Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature.

Citation Count

Highly Influential Citations

h-index

Highly Influential Citations

No