Subject Guides: Law: International Law

Resources

International Law

“The orthodox definition of public international law is that it is a body of rules and principles governing the legal relations of states and other international legal persons, such as international organisations.”

Natalie Baird “Researching public international law” in Mary-Rose Russell (ed) Legal Research in New Zealand (LexisNexis, Wellington, 2016) 187 at 188.

Guides to International Law Research

An Introduction to Sources for Treaty Research

International Law Encyclopedia

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law A legal encyclopedia covering public international law.

Treaties and Conventions

Treaty Sources

European Union

New Zealand

Judicial Decisions

International Court of Justice
Statute of the International Court of Justice
International Criminal Court
Oxford Reports on International Law A database of public international case law.

Databases for International Law Sources

ISLG (Investor-State LawGuide) This link opens in a new window Access to information on international investment treaty law and arbitration.

OECD decisions, recommendations and other instruments

OECD
Statistics and profiles for every OECD nation.
Trade Law Guide This link opens in a new window

United Nations Official Documents

WorldTradeLaw.net This link opens in a new window WorldTradeLaw.net offers both a free resource library of current trade news and resources, as well as a subscription service (the DSC Service), which provides summary and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations; a current keyword index; a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics; and a user-friendly search tool for WTO cases, legal texts, and other documents.

Journal Articles

Journal literature for international law can be found by using the legal journal indexes available here:

Legal Journal Indexes

Some specific international law titles are provided below:

Help

If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Law Subject Librarians – Theresa Buller and John Arnold.

You can:

email us at law@libr.canterbury.ac.nz
phone us at 3693852 or
chat with us on Ask Library.

Library Subject Guides

Law: International Law