Subject Guides: Law: Journal Articles

Resources

Finding Legal Journal Articles

Journal articles often provide up-to-date information on very discrete topics, and can provide alternative views on a topic. How much information you have determines your starting point (see finding law journals).

Use the Legal Citations of Aotearoa New Zealand to decode the abbreviation of a New Zealand journal.

Use the Cardiff index to legal abbreviations to decode the abbreviation of a non-NZ journal.

Legal Journal Article Databases: Indexes

These databases provide a broad range of journal articles, but not always the full text of the article.

Linxplus A New Zealand case and legal journal index.
AGIS Plus Text An Australian legal journals index
Legal Journals Index Has UK and European coverage (1986 to present).
LegalTrac Access to legal journals from North American, Europe, the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand.

Quick guide to search operators in selected databases.

Legal Journal Article Databases: Full Text

Cambridge Journals This link opens in a new window Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by Cambridge University Press. Covers humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Register to receive alerts regarding articles of interest as well as tables of contents for journals of interest.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Access to legal journals, books, cases and reports
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in many subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I-XII, Biological Sciences, Business III-IV, Health & General Sciences Collections and 19th Century British Pamphlets. Title lists
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Westlaw International This link opens in a new window Legal resources including state and federal cases, statutes, rules of evidence, rules of procedure. Selected case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties and directories organised by topical and international regional libraries.

Finding Law Journals

Quick guide to search operators in selected databases

Quick Guide to Search Operators

Help

If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Law Subject Librarians – Theresa Buller and John Arnold.

You can:

email us at law@libr.canterbury.ac.nz
phone us at 3693852 or
chat with us on Ask Library.

Library Subject Guides

Law: Journal Articles