Papers Past
Hosted by the National Library of New Zealand, Papers Past provides a constantly growing database of historic digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, and other items. The database is full-text searchable and papers can be browsed in their original format. Years of publication available vary between newspapers, ranging from 1839 to thirty five years ago.
PressReader
Provides searchable access to current and recent editions of New Zealand and international newspapers and periodicals in their original print format. In many cases, dates available range back to the early 2000s.
Factiva
Global news database providing search-based access to relatively recent full text-articles from a wide variety of sources, including many New Zealand newspapers.
Newspapers of New Zealand
Aims to list all newspapers ever published in New Zealand. Provides publication details and links to digitised copies where available.
Print and microfilm copies are available for viewing in-library at the Macmillan Brown Library. Where specific issues cannot be requested via the catalogue, please email your request to macbrown@libr.canterbury.ac.nz. Many of the newspapers are held off-site, therefore retrievals are weather-dependent and we require at least one day’s notice for retrieval of large holdings.
Citizen Today/Christchurch Citizen
UC holds print copies for 2001-2002. The newspaper was initially published as the Citizen Today beginning in July 2001, before changing its name to Christchurch Citizen on 24 November 2001. The newspaper ceased publication in July 2002.
Lyttelton Times/Christchurch Times
Canterbury’s first newspaper, the Lyttelton Times, began publication in 1951. It was re-titled the Christchurch Times in 1929, which then ceased publication in 1935.
Index: a microfiche index is available (produced Christchurch City Libraries) for select periods of the newspaper’s publication (see catalogue record for details).
Between ca. April 1862 and March 1896, the Lyttelton Times published an extended “Summary for Europe” edition in the latter part of each month. The edition featured the same content as the regular newspaper of that day plus a supplement featuring specially written summaries for Europe and America of local events and information, including sections such as commercial news; social news; current wholesale prices for goods; shipping news, including some details of passengers, reports of voyages, and cargo; and births, deaths, and marriages. It also included a small number of articles from the previous month’s regular editions.
UC holds two microfilm copies of the Lyttelton Times. The Summary for Europe edition is inconsistently featured in the two copies, and varies in its labelling. While both film runs feature mostly good quality scans of the newspaper, some editions are poorly legible or are filmed out of order. The two film runs can be cross-referenced to find summary editions and best quality scans.
UC Library holds a full run of The Press from its beginning in May 1861 until the present.
Indexes to The Press for the period 1851-1994 (produced by Christchurch City Libraries) are available on microfiche:
For 1995-current Christchurch City Libraries provides Papers Index, an online, searchable database of selective articles, mostly of local interest.
Beginning in 1865, a weekly edition was published targeting regional audiences. From 1893 it contained increasingly prominent illustrations and photographs. UC has limited print holdings between 1886 and 1923, as well as special Christmas editions from 1897, 1904, and 1921.
The Star, variably titled the Christchurch Star, has been published in a variety of forms since 1868. UC holds an incomplete run of the newspaper, while further runs are available online:
Index: Christchurch City Libraries has selectively indexed The Star from 1998 to the present.
For dates not listed above, see Christchurch City Libraries.
Published between 1914 and 1935. Issues for the years 1914-1920 are available online via Papers Past. UC holds print copies for January 1916 to June 1935.
Community newspapers often have complex publication histories, as they frequently change names, split into smaller regional titles, or merge with other local papers. This can result in multiple separate catalogue records for what is effectively a continuous, though evolving, publication. Below, such related titles have been grouped together were there is a fairly straightforward publication history, such as where the title only varies slightly over time, or the publication splits into multiple regional editions under a common title. Where publication histories are more complex, such as resulting from the merger of two papers into a new title, separate entries have been given. Each distinct newspaper title is also included in the list of newspapers featured in this guide at the top left of this page. Individual catalogue records give more details on variant titles, editions, and former and latter titles for each newspaper.
Community newspaper for Sumner, Redcliffs, Mt Pleasant, Ferrymead, South Shore, Lyttleton, and the Harbour Basin. Published since September 1999. UC holds an incomplete print run. Issues from March 2016 are available online.
UC holds one print issue from July 1980.
Published between 1985 and 2018, variably as a either a single newspaper or as multiple regional editions with slightly varied titles.
1985-1990. Titled the Christchurch Mid-Week Mail. Scattered print holdings.
1990-2001. Incomplete print holdings.
2001-2003. Published in three regional editions.
-Northern Mail. One print issue only (1 November 2001).
-Western Mail. One print issue only (8 November 2001).
-Christchurch Southern Mail. One print issue only (15 November 2001).
2003-2008. Published in three regional editions. Largely complete print holdings.
-Wigram, Spreydon, Heathcote, Ferrymead
-Shirley, Burwood, Pegasus, Hagley
-Waimairi, Papanui, Riccarton, Fendalton
Features some local news as well as advertising. Published under varying titles.
Consumers' Shopping Guide
Christchurch Shopping Guide
Christchurch Shopping & TV Guide
Christchurch Shopping Guide
Published between October 2009 and February 2011. UC has mostly complete print holdings.
Lyttelton Times [community newspaper]
Print holdings from April 1994 to October 1996.
Published between March 2011 and May 2013. Incorporates the Bay Harbour News, Nor'West News, Pegasus Bay News, and Southern View papers. UC has mostly complete print holdings.
Features some local news as well as advertising.
Largely complete print holdings from September 1994-June 2013.
Published between June 1993 and October 1995. UC has print holdings for 15 October 1994 to 5 August 1995.
Community newspaper for Merivale, Fendalton, Riccarton, Papanui, Avonhead, Bishopdale, and Northwood. UC has largely complete print holdings from May 2004-current. Issues from February 2016 are available online.
Observer
Community News (Observer ed.)
Observer
Observer: Community News
Community newspaper for Kaiapoi, New Brighton, Burwood, Shirley, Parklands, St Albans, Waimairi, Mashlands, Redwood, and Belfast. Print holdings for 11 February 2009 to 9 February 2011.
Shoreline: Incorporating the Lyttelton Times Monthly: The Community News Magazine
Incomplete print holdings from August 1985 to February 2002.
Published between December 2003 and September 2005, when it merged with the Observer to become the Star Community (Southern). UC has mostly complete print holdings.
Community newspaper for Lyttelton, St Andrews Hill, Mt Pleasant, Sumner, Redcliffs, Ferrymead, Cass Bay, Corsair Bay, and Rapaki. UC has mostly complete print holdings from April 2009 to February 2011.
SMOG: The Inner City East Community Newspaper
UC has print holdings from its beginning in December 1997 to March 2000.
Community newspaper for Cashmere, Beckenham, St Martins, Hillsborough, West Morland, Rolleston, and Lincoln. UC has incomplete holdings from November 2007-current. Issues from February 2016 are available online.
Star Community/Star Community News
Star Community
Star Community News
For related titles published prior to and after the above's publication run, see the News Advertiser and Western News: Community News.
UC has incomplete holdings from 1 March 2009 to current. Also available online from May 2016 to current. For an earlier related title, see the Star Community News (Western ed.).
Akaroa Mail and Banks Peninsula Advertiser
Print copies available for 1962 to 1985 (incomplete, and 21 March 1916 on separate record), and 1985 to current (incomplete).
Published between June 1854 and April 1866. UC has complete holdings on microfilm, as well as print copies for 1858.
Published between 1865 and 1917. UC holds print copies of three issues: 26 October 1886, 16 December 1900 (jubilee number), and 2 August 1911.
Mostly complete print holdings. This title was continued from 2007 by the Selywn Times.
Published in two regional editions: Geraldine and Ashburton, and Timaru and Waimate. UC has incomplete print holdings for 1996-1999.
Incomplete print holdings available for May 1994 to current.
Print copies available for 15 December 1989 to 18 October 1996.
Available on microfilm from its beginning on 28 July 1909 to 14 July 1915.
Print copies available for 19 December 1987 to 27 April 1988.
Print copies available for 24 September 1987 to 7 February 1991, and 3 January 1996 to 5 March 1997.
Available on microfilm from 3 April 1986 to 1988.
Print copies available for 7 August 2007 to current. Also available online from 18 May 2010 to recent. This title continued the Canterbury Times, published from 1996-2007.
Available online via Papers Past from its beginning in 1864 to 1920. Also available on microfilm from 1864 to 30 September 1912. Issues from October 2006 to current can be accessed onlne via PressReader.
A weekly newspaper targeting a regional audience published by Christchurch's The Press Co. from 1865. From 1893 it contained increasingly prominent illustrations and photographs. UC has limited print holdings between 1886 and 1923, as well as special Christmas editions from 1897, 1904, and 1921.
Began publication in 1994.
Auckland
Available on microfilm from its beginning in July 1913 to June 1914, and from January 1915 to December 1916.
Very limited print holdings between 1901 and 1932.
Available online via Papers Past for 1843-1876, as well as on microfilm for 20 May 1862 to 1876.
Published between June 1845 and May 1866. Available online via Papers Past, as well as on microfilm.
Began publication in 1863.
Dunedin
Began publication in 1861.
Hawke's Bay
Hawke's Bay Herald: And Ahuriri Advocate
Available online via Papers Past for 1857-1904. Also available on microfilm—incomplete holdings for 1877-1904.
Taranaki
Available online via Papers Past from its beginning in 1852 to 1920, as well as on microfilm from 1852 to 1900.
Wellington
Published from 1907 until 2002, when it merged with the the Evening Post.
Formed in 2002 from the merger of The Dominion and the Evening Post.
Published from 1865 until 2002, when it merged with the The Dominion.
Available on microfilm—incomplete holdings for July 1906 to June 1958.
