MultiSearch

• the Library Catalogue
• most Library databases
• some digital collections

Interloan

If you cannot find it at UC Library or online, request an Interloan and we will get it for you from another library. There is no charge for this service

Comparing Journals

To compare journal bibliometrics consider using:

See also Measuring Impact  for more information.

Journal Title Abbreviations

Key Databases for Physics

To find specific articles within journals, try one of the indexing services below. Each database has its own subject focus, date range and usage quirks – contact me for ideas on getting the best results.

Google Scholar – Tips and Tricks

Provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature

Use Scholar Preferences

• to import references into EndNote, BibTeX, etc: amend Bibliography manager details in the Search results section
  • Import one citation at a time using the “Import into . . .” link
  • Log in to import several citations at once (instructions on the EndNote Guide )
• to show Full-Text @ UC Library, choose ”University of Canterbury“ in the Library Links section

Use Google Scholar Library to organise your references

Search Tips

Specific articles: search in MultiSearch and/or one of the key Physics databases.

Journal title: in the Library catalogue do a “Browse Alphabetically: By Title” search.
Alternatively, try the Journal Search

• Results may include online, print, and/or older versions. Check what years/volumes we have:
  • Print: see the details in the Holdings tab.
  • Electronic: see the dates in the link or links to the journal.

Abbreviated title: in the Library catalogue do a “Journal Title” search and type an asterisk directly after each part of the abbreviation, e.g. int* j* phys*

Browse Physics Journals

Online

In print

• Recently received – EPS Library , on the ground floor in the QC classification sequence.
• Older journals – request through the Library catalogue