Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

History: Home

Key Databases

Listed below are 3 key databases for History journal articles.

For a complete list of relevant databases see Databases for History

For a key collection of online encyclopaedias try
Cambridge histories

 

New E-resources

Cultural and Social History
The official peer reviewed journal of the Social History Society.
 

View other trial databases and resources...

Welcome to the History Subject Guide

The library has a huge range of resources and services for History students and staff. Ask your Subject Librarian for help in using any of these.

 

How do I find?

Books | Journal articles | Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

Assignment help

Assignment researchCiting/Referencing | Writing Guides

Exam Info

 Previous exams and tests

King James BibleTaj MahalSpanish Civil War poster

Featured Resource

eTV - New Zealand television recordings archive.
Available to UC staff and students eTV contains thousands of recordings from TV broadcasts. Search or browse the On Demand section for fullest results.

New Books at UC Library

Call#   DK 262 .L722 t 2016
Title   Towards the flame :empire, war and the end of Tsarist Russia  
Authors   Lieven, D. C. B.  
Publication   London :Penguin Books, 2016.  
       
       
       
Call#   DK 265 .W24 2017
Title   The Russian Revolution, 1917  
Authors   Wade, Rex A.  
Edition   Third edition.  
Publication   Cambridge ;New York, NY :Cambridge University Press, 2017.  
       
       
Call#   DS 135 .E5 .P398 2006
Title   Portraying 'the Jew' in First World War Britain  
Authors   Pendlebury, Alyson.  
Publication   London ;Portland, OR :Vallentine Mitchell, 2006.  
       
       
       
Call#   DS 195.5 .M414 2016
Title   Mass media and the genocide of the Armenians :one hundred years of uncertain representation  
Authors   Chabot, Joceline
Godin, Richard
Kappler, Stefanie
Kasparian, Sylvia
 
Publication   Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire :Palgrave Macmillan, 2016.  
       
       
Call#   DS 195.5 .N29 1984
Title   Britain and the Armenian question, 1915-1923  
Authors   Nassibian, Akaby.  
Publication   New York :St. Martin's Press ;London :Croom Helm, 1984.  
       
       
       

Macmillan Brown Library

       
Call#   DU 412.5 .P63 .S678 2016  
Title   Socialism and Māori sovereignty :a Fightback pamphlet  
Authors   Anderson, Ian,1988-
Anderson, Ian
Beechey, Bronwen
Brookes, Grant
Fightback (Organisation : N.Z.)
 
Publication   Auckland, [New Zealand] :Fightback, 2016.  
       
       
Call#   DU 413 .C5 .E13 2005
Title   East by South :China in the Australasian imagination  
Authors   Ferrall, Charles.
Millar, Paul.
Smith, Keren
 
Publication   Wellington [N.Z.] :Victoria University Press, 2005.  
     

Subject Librarian

Dave Clemens
Try enabling Javascript to view this chat, or email me if it's still not working.
Contact:
Central library
Level 5
(Monday - Friday 9 - 3:30)
3693902 ext. 93902
Subjects:Arts, Social Science

University Library
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140

Phone: +64 3 369 4888 (ext 94888)
Email
library@canterbury.ac.nz

Follow us
Facebook Twitter Youtube