Dictionaries and EncylopediasBooksJournal Articles
Citation StyleEndnote WikiWriting Guides
Linguistcs Web SitesPhonetics web sites
This is the "Home" page of the "Linguistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides

Linguistics   Tags: ling, phonetics  

Resources from Canterbury University library relating to the scientific study of language.
Last Updated: Apr 1, 2015 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/ling Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Key Databases

 Find journal articles for Linguistics...

Spacer

Sources for finding New Zealand journal articles

The following databases contain journal articles about New Zealand English:-

Index New Zealand

Informit New Zealand Collection

Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection

Remember, too, that articles about New Zealand English are also published in international journals so you will need to search databases with international coverage as well.

 

Recent book by UC authors

Cover Art
Theories of syntax: concepts and case studies. - Koenraad Kuiper & Jacqui Nokes
ISBN: 0230216935
Publication Date: 2014
'This book by two inspired linguists is the most delightful introduction to syntax I have seen in many years, a didactic and very well-informed masterpiece, a must in every elementary linguistics course. It is also the first book of its kind that I know of which aims at an even-handed survey of a variety of opposing syntactic theories on the market, stressing the similarities besides the dissimilarities. Useful not only for beginners but also for teachers and even those who act as protagonists in the field.' Pieter Seuren, Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, The Netherlands

 

Welcome to the Linguistics Subject Guide

The Library has a huge range of resources available to Linguistics students. Ask your Liaison Librarian for help in using any of these.

 

 

Topic Guides and Quick Links

 

New books in the Library

Cover Art
The Emergence of Meaning - Stephen Crain
ISBN: 0521674883
Publication Date: 2012-08-30
Over the past forty years, scientists have developed models of human reasoning based on the principle that human languages and classical logic involve fundamentally different concepts and different methods of interpretation. In The Emergence of Meaning Stephen Crain challenges this view, arguing that a common logical nativism underpins human language and logical reasoning.

Cover Art
Keeping Languages Alive - Mari C. Jones; Sarah Ogilvie
ISBN: 1107029066
Publication Date: 2013-12-12
Many of the world's languages have diminishing numbers of speakers and are in danger of falling silent. Around the globe, a large body of linguists are collaborating with members of indigenous communities to keep these languages alive. Mindful that their work will be used by future speech communities to learn, teach and revitalise their languages, scholars face new challenges in the way they gather materials and in the way they present their findings. This volume discusses current efforts to record, collect and archive endangered languages in traditional and new media that will support future language learners and speakers.

Cover Art
The English Language in Canada - Charles Boberg
ISBN: 1107688140
Publication Date: 2014-04-24
The English Language in Canada examines the current status, history and principal features of Canadian English, focusing on the 'standard' variety heard across the country today. The discussion of the status of Canadian English considers the number and distribution of its speakers, its relation to French and other Canadian languages and to American English, its status as the expressive medium of English Canadian culture and its treatment in previous research. The review of its history concentrates on the historical roots and patterns of English-speaking settlement that established Canadian English and influenced its character in each region of Canada.

Cover Art
Sheltered Content Instruction - Jana Echevarria; Anne Graves
ISBN: 013375426X
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
A popular text by renowned authors Jana Echevarria and Anne Graves, Sheltered Content Instruction: Teaching English Learners with Diverse Abilities , 5/e presents a complete guide to preparing teachers to use the sheltered instruction approach to deliver content area instruction to English learners. It includes recent research, best practices, and policies that impact the education of English leaners, and gives teachers the means to think about their own educational practices and the issues they should consider when teaching English learners, especially those struggling academically.

Cover Art
Methodologies in Semantic Fieldwork - M. Ryan Bochnak (Editor); Lisa Matthewson (Editor)
ISBN: 0190212330
Publication Date: 2015-01-30
This volume discusses methodological issues in conducting elicitation on semantic topics in a fieldwork situation. In twelve chapters discussing 11 language families from four continents, authors draw on their own fieldwork experience, pairing explicit methodological proposals with concrete examples of their use in the field.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Elizabeth Cooke
Try enabling Javascript to view this chat, or email me if it's still not working.
Contact Info
Central Library, ph 03 3642987 ext 8512
Send Email
 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip