• Teaching support from UC Library

  Includes details on textbook selection and provision at UC

• Subject Guides

  Pathfinders to resources at UC, tailored for each subject

• Adding resources to High Demand collections

  Provides instructions on how to place a request for items to be moved in to High Demand via the UC Service Portal.

• Link maker for online resources

  Generates stable links (e.g., for LEARN) that will log UC students and staff into the Library’s subscribed online resources via OpenAthens or other suitable methods.

• Copyright

  Guidance for UC academic staff and students

The Library Committee

The Library Committee is a committee of the Academic Board who report activities on a regular basis to the Vice-Chancellor and the Academic Board. Meetings are on the third Friday of each month

• Stages in the Research Process

• Profiler

  A database for recording and managing a range of research information (formerly the UC People & Research database)

• Elements

  A database for capturing information about UC research outputs, Student Supervisions, Grants, Professional Activities and PBRF Portfolios (replaces many functions formerly in Profiler)

• The Performance Based Research Fund (PBRF) at UC (Intranet)

  A brief introduction to PBRF and where you can find more specific information about the PBRF at UC.

• UC Research Repository

  An open-access database of original research authored by Canterbury academics, researchers and postgraduate students. The aim of the Repository is to expose UC-authored research to as wide an audience as possible, by providing free access to full-text research through common Internet search tools, such as Google Scholar and Scopus

• FAQs and additional information on the UC Research Repository

• Contact details for Anton Angelo (Research Data Co-ordinator)

• Information on Scholarly Publication

• ORCiD

  A registry of unique researcher identifiers

• ResearcherID

  Integrates with the Web of Science and is ORCID compliant. Allows you to claim and showcase your publications from a single one account

• Referencing and Bibliographic Management software

• Detailed UC Research Guides

Books

• In-Print Books: the Library can apply to Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ) for a transactional licence when an additional 10% from any in-print book is required (up to 20% in total from the in-print book). For now the Library will pay for these transactional licences.
• Out-of-Print Books: the Library can apply to CLNZ for OOP licences. The content used can be up to 100% of an out-of-print book if the application is accepted.
  • If the Library owns or can purchase an eBook version, no licences will be sought, unless the eBook access is limited to one or three users

Electronic Journal Articles

• If the Library does not hold an article in print format or provide electronic access, the Library can apply to publishers to purchase specific articles, provided the publisher offers such a service.
• Please give the Library the student numbers and timeframe required.

More detailed information can be found here

For any requests or questions, contact the Library via learncopyright@canterbury.ac.nz

• Collection information for Library Liaison Officers

  Each academic department has a designated person to act as their Library Liaison Officer (LLO). It is a voluntary role, and the person selected to undertake the responsibilities is organised by the department

  Recommendations to purchase:
  Books: email Kim Hall, Subject Librarian or use this form to recommend new titles for the Library to support current teaching and research
  Journals and databases: these undergo an annual review process (normally in July) in which new resources with an ongoing financial commitment are considered. The Library considers new recommendations for subscription submitted at other times during the year on a case-by-case basis. Email Kim Hall, Subject Librarian

UC Academics and postgraduates are able to request to browse library materials that are shelves in storage. To make an appointment email collections@libr.canterbury.ac.nz

However, please note, until the end of 2022, most items are unable to be retrieved due to campus alterations.