Subject Guides: Engineering: Databases

Search Compendex

ASTM International Standards This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ASTM Standards. See ASTM Digital Library for full-text access to eBooks, journals, symposia, and special technical publications subscribed to by UC.
IEEEXplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IET journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
Library has access to a custom package of 100 standards
Standards New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Contains all New Zealand and Combined New Zealand Australian Standards. All standards can be downloaded and printed.
University of Canterbury Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Many standards are physically held by the University of Canterbury Library. Check here using the standard number to see if we hold a copy

Medline
Large Biomedical database specialising in medical literature.
PubMed
Pubmed is an interface used to search Medline, as well as additional biomedical content. Medline is an interface for searching only Medline content. Pubmed is more user-friendly and allows you to search through more content than Medline. However, Medline allows you to perform a more focused search

Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex (also called Engineering Village) has great coverage within engineering, especially in conference proceedings. It also searches US Patents, research reports, journal articles and Engineering Handbook literature.
MultiSearch This link opens in a new window
The best source for looking within the physical and ebook literature available to UC libraries. Multisearch searches across many databases, but it doesn't cover them all, and there is a lot of non-engineering material.
Scopus
Scopus has very wide coverage- there's a lot in here. It's like Google Scholar, but with less material, but it's higher quality.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine. It searches scholarly works from a variety of sources, including academic publishers and universities looking for: Peer-reviewed articles. The search order ranking can be problematic. Use to cover any search holes.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest academic publishers. Very strong in Engineering, Scientific, Technical, and Medical research. Indexed by Compendex and Scopus.

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
All aspects of chemistry. Access to all American Chemical Society journals full text
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Chemical and Chemical and Process literature. Can search for Journal Articles, Chemical Reactions or Chemical Compounds and Patents.

Please Register first.

Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology This link opens in a new window
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry This link opens in a new window
Reference work in chemistry and chemical and life science engineering, covering inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and more.

ASCE Journals This link opens in a new window
Contain access to all American Society of Civil Engineers, Journals, Conference Proceedings and Books. Indexed by Compendex.
ICE virtual library This link opens in a new window
Access to the British Institution of Civil Engineers journals. Indexed by Compendex.
Transport Research International Documentation This link opens in a new window
Includes all modes and disciplines in the field of transportation, such as highways, transit, railroads, maritime, aviation. Covers Books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles and on-going research.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text for articles published in ACM periodicals, transactions and proceedings, together with selected works published by affiliated organizations. Includes full text for ACM SIG Newsletters published since 1985.
ACM guide to computing literature This link opens in a new window
Computer science, information technology literature
IEEEXplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IET journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.

CAS source index for IEEE abbreviations. Search for journal title to discover the abbreviation.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text for articles published in ACM periodicals, transactions and proceedings, together with selected works published by affiliated organizations. Includes full text for ACM SIG Newsletters published since 1985.
IEEEXplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IET journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.

Factiva
A global business information and research tool that aggregates content from a wide range of resources such as newspapers, journals, magazines and newswires. Also contains company and financial reports.
Date range: 1979- daily updates
Help: Some newspapers do not allow academic institutions to access the full text. Contact your subject librarian with any questions.
Downloading: Bulk downloading of articles from Factiva is not permitted and may result in access being revoked.