Library Subject Guides

Environmental Science | Mātai Pūtaiao Aronukurangi: Home

Haere mai, tauti mai—welcome! Take advantage of the large range of Mātai Pūtaiao Aronukurangi | Environmental Science resources the Library provides. Your Kaitiaki Kaupapa | Subject Librarians work with your lecturers to ensure these resources are available to you on campus, at home or at work - any day - anytime.

Journals & Databases

We have a range of recommended databases for finding journal articles and other resources. Searching a range of different databases ensures a broad range of sources can be found. 

Books

https://www.canterbury.ac.nz/library/libraries/about-the-library/Engineering-library-UC-16-0426-47.jpg

UC Library has a huge number of books and ebooks that are often overlooked but excellent sources to cite for most assignments. All three Libraries on campus have relevant collections available to everyone.

Writing & Citing

Citations and Referencing

Find guides on the different citation and reference styles used at UC. Check with your lecturer or Subject Librarian if you are unsure what style to use. Style used varies by course or department.

Online Resources

These online resources are recommended by Professor Sally Gaw.

Māori Dictionary (Spelling Māori words correctly in assignments and exams is important)

Resource Management Act Guide (environmentguide.org.nz)

Te Ao Māori The Māori World (Ministry for the Environment)

Environment Aotearoa 2015 (Ministry for the Environment. There is a 2019 report that is more recent but the 2015 report is particularly useful)

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

We have many Dictionaries and Encyclopedias for checking facts, definitions and gathering background material. These are a great place to start for any assignment.

Macmillan Brown Collections

Macmillan Brown Library’s cultural heritage collections reflect UC’s place in Aotearoa, the Pacific and beyond. These diverse collections have unlimited potential for discovering and creating new knowledge.

Contact me for Help

Kaitiaki Kaupapa | Subject Librarian

Nick Scullin

Phone: +6433693904
Te Puna Pūkaha me te Pūtaiao | EPS Library

Contact me to arrange a suitable time if you would like help with
 Identifying relevant information sources for your topic
 Designing search strategies for finding information
 Using the Library’s resources, both print and electronic
 Ways of keeping up with what is being published in your subject

Research Support

The Library provides services and resources to support UC researchers throughout the research lifecycle.