Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Subject Guides

Geological Sciences | Mātai Pūtaiao ā-nuku: Home

Haere mai, tauti mai—welcome! Take advantage of the large range of Mātai Pūtaiao ā-nuku | Geological Sciences resources the Library provides. Your Kaitiaki Kaupapa | Subject Librarians work with your lecturers to ensure these resources are available to you on campus, at home or at work - any day - anytime.

Journals & Databases

We have a range of recommended databases for finding journal articles and other resources. Searching a range of different databases ensures a broad range of sources can be found. 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

We have many Dictionaries and Encyclopedias for checking facts, definitions and gathering background material. These are a great place to start for any assignment.

Writing & Citing

Citations and Referencing

Find guides on the different citation and reference styles used at UC. Check with your lecturer or Subject Librarian if you are unsure what style to use. Style used varies by course or department.

Books

https://www.canterbury.ac.nz/library/libraries/about-the-library/Engineering-library-UC-16-0426-47.jpg

UC Library has a huge number of books and ebooks that are often overlooked but excellent sources to cite for most assignments. All three Libraries on campus have relevant collections available to everyone.

Topic Guides

Topic guides provide lists of key journals, books, subject keywords and web resources for specific sub-topics within the broader discipline. Topic guides are a great place to start assignment research.

Macmillan Brown Collections

Macmillan Brown Library’s cultural heritage collections reflect UC’s place in Aotearoa, the Pacific and beyond. These diverse collections have unlimited potential for discovering and creating new knowledge.

Contact me for Help

Kaitiaki Kaupapa | Subject Librarian

Nick Scullin

Phone: +6433693904
Internal Phone: 93916
Te Puna Pūkaha me te Pūtaiao | EPS Library

Please note I am currently only available for Zoom appointments and I work from home Tuesdays and Fridays.

 


 

Research Support

The Library provides services and resources to support UC researchers throughout the research lifecycle.