All of the works in the collections below can be requested via the catalogue record, unless indicated otherwise. If you wish to see a full listing of a collection or would like to discuss the collections please contact the Research Services Librarian. or the Macmillan Brown Library.
Robert Bridges Collection - This is a collection of about 350 volumes, mainly the published output of Robert Bridges in English language editions.The collection was purchased from J.H.E. Schroder in 1965. Most of the scarcer works are present, including Daniel Press and other private press editions. For a full listing of the Robert Bridges material held in the Special Collections please contact the Research Services Librarian.
Brian Douglas Collection - In 1989 Brian Douglas gave his extraordinary collection of music, sound recordings, books and journals to the School of Music at Canterbury University. The UC Library subsequently received the sheet music and scores (which are in excess of 3000 titles) and books (365 titles). For a full listing of the Brian Douglas material held in the Special Collections please contact the Research Services Librarian.
Geological Sciences Historical Collection - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE. Please contact the Research Services Librarian.
Nineteenth Century Music Collection - This collection comprises mainly first and early editions of music scores of the standard classical composers and, in particular, early 19th Century engraved music scores where title-pages are a feature. Scarce early works on music are being added to this collection. Please click here to view the collection.
Julio Campal Collection - The Julio Campal Experimental Poetry Collection (University of Canterbury) is a joint project between the University’s Spanish department and the Library. The project was established by former staff member Dr Laura López Fernández and continues the collection of the same name at Georgetown College, Kentucky, which she established there in collaboration with the College Library. Please click here to view the catalogue records for the collection.
Laing Collection - This is a collection of some 400 volumes on botany, both New Zealand and overseas. The books were bequeathed by R.M. Laing, a former teacher at Christchurch Boy’s High School who died in 1941. The books are mainly 19th and early 20th century specialist works outside the standard commercial publishers' output, and include many scarce items. For a full listing of the Laing material held in the Special Collections please contact the Research Services Librarian.
Sir Walter Scott Collection - This includes first and other early editions of Scott's works. It comprises about 350 volumes, and early collected editions make up most of this number. It was purchased from a member of our English Department, A.W.S. Stockwell, in 1981. For a full listing of the Scott material held in the Special Collections please contact the Research Services Librarian.
Young Persons' Fiction - Comprising of 1000 items from the late 19th century until the 1930s this collection represents a merger of two smaller collections: one purchased in the 1980s from Professor D.C. Gunby, formerly of the English department, and the memorial collection of Iain Henderson, formerly of the Christchurch College of Education.
