Library Subject Guides

Art: Home

COVID-19 and UC Library - including physical access

The Central Library and Macmillan Brown Library have reopened. Central's hours are 9am - 9pm weekdays, and 10am - 6pm on weekends. Macmillan Brown's hours are 11am - 3pm weekdays.

Make sure you take your Canterbury Card with you. You will also need to scan QR codes when entering certain spaces.

More details, including the various protective measures that will be in place, are on this page: https://www.canterbury.ac.nz/library/support/covid-19/

We are still providing the Click and Collect/Postal service, and scanning on request for Academic staff and Postgraduate students in Alert Level 2. For more information on these services please contact me at elizabeth.cooke@canterbury.ac.nz.

Guide overview

This guide is a pathfinder to Fine Arts and Art History resources at UC. To navigate, use the tabs above. Scroll down to browse new titles.

Quick links:

Recommended databases

These indexing databases are recommended for Fine Arts, Art History & Theory - see also: Databases for Art.

Art news

Introducing the UC Art Collection Artist Interview Series

The #UCArtCollection artist interview series now available on Kā Kohika!

Listen to Tjalling de Vries, Adrienne Millwood, Miranda Parkes, Bronwyn Taylor, Tim Veiling and Charlotte Watson speak about art works in the UC Art Collection. Keep an eye out, more interviews will be added here

undefined

New Francis Hodgkins online catalogue - The Complete Francis Hodgkins

A new online catalogue dedicated to Frances Hodgkins is now available. The catalogue includes information on Frances Hodgkins' paintings, watercolours and drawings, ranging from 1886 to 1946. You can search across artworks, and relates exhibitions, people and locations. The site also includes digitised and transcribed letters written by Hodgkins, her family and friends, as well as a wide range of related photographs and documents. The catalogue will continue to be updated as new material becomes available.

To search of browse the catalogue, click here or go to https://completefranceshodgkins.com/explore

****************************************************************************************************
PressReader extending backfile
PressReader has announced they are extending the backfile coverage for newspapers and magazines.
While previously there was only access to the last 90 days, we now have coverage for some titles going back to 2007.
There are over 7000 titles in PressReader. Click here to browse the database.

New titles

Subject Librarian

Elizabeth Cooke's picture
Elizabeth Cooke
Try enabling Javascript to view this chat, or email me if it's still not working.
Contact:
Level 5, Central Library, Puaka-James Hight
ext. 93898

Normal working hours: Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri 9am-1pm
Subjects:Arts