Library Subject Guides

COVID-19 Special Resources: Extra Publications

Extra Online Publications Made Available by Database Vendors/Publishers

Please note this list is being updated when the free access expires.
last updated 02/07/2020

Artfilms

We have access to the Artfilms digital database until 30 September.  The database has 1600+ streaming videos in subject areas such as: architecture, art, design, cinema, culture, media and music.

Records for the videos are in the Catalogue and it can also be accessed through the Library database webpages.

Asian Art Newspaper

The May and June issues won't be produced in print but can be read online until 31 August at https://asianartnewspaper.com/
Click on "access my digital subscription". 

The login is:
Username: acquisitions@libr.canterbury.ac.nz
Password: P2DMAY20

Cambridge University Press

CUP is providing free access to the HTML version of all 700 textbooks in the Cambridge Core collection until the end of July.  

Records are in the Catalogue and the titles are available in MultiSearch.  See title list below.

 

Elsevier

Elsevier is making 256 textbooks freely available to ScienceDirect customers until 31 August.

A title list is available here https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/book-title-lists 

Records are in the Catalogue and in MultiSearch.

JSTOR

A new collection of 26 journal archives in public health is available until 31 December. 
JSTOR has opened up all the journal archives that we don't subscribe to until the end of Dec. 2020. 25,000 free ebooks are also available until the end of August.

Records for the ebooks and journals are in the Catalogue and in MultiSearch. 

Knovel

We have trial access until 31 August.  More details on the electronic resources trials page.

Records for the ebooks are in the Catalogue and in MultiSearch.

LexisNexis

We have purchased the following online textbooks:

  • Burrows and Cheer. Media Law in New Zealand (7th ed.)
  • Company Law in New Zealand (2nd ed.)
  • Immigration and Refugee Law (3rd ed.)
  • Nevill’s Law of Trusts, Wills and Administration (13th ed.)
  • Understanding Commercial Law (9th ed.)
     

 These are now available in the Catalogue and in Lexis Advance. The NZ Law Dictionary is also available online

Reaxys

We have trial access to Reaxys and Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry. The trial runs until the 3 July and the databases can be accessed through the electronic resources trials webpage.

Sage Video Leadership Collection

We have trial access to the Sage Video Leadership Collection until 31 July.  The collection can be accessed through the electronic resources trials webpage.

SpringerNature textbooks

SpringerNature is making 500 textbooks available for free until the end of July.  The titles have been selected across the SpringerNature subject collections.  More information is available here.

A list of the English language titles available is here.

Records are in the Catalogue and in MultiSearch.

 

Other offers

 

CEIC macroeconomic data - 3 month trial access is available

Duke University Press can provide 90 days of complimentary e-access to course materials.

Edward Elgar Publishing has opened up some chapters in eBooks that they publish. Subjects include: business (management, tourism, entrepreneurship, HR), education, geography, and political science.

New York times - free access to news about Covid-19

 

A number of publishers have made articles about Covid-19 free to access.    Please see the tab - free Covid-19 resources.