Ebooks:
Buttle, J. W. (2021). Lessons from the prison abolitionist movement in Aotearoa/New Zealand. In M. J. Coyle & D. Scott (Eds.). The Routledge international handbook of penal abolition (pp. 139-149). Routledge.
Cavney, J., & Friedman, S. H. (2018). Culture, mental illness and prison: A New Zealand perspective. In A. Mills & K. Kendall (Eds.), Mental health in prisons: Critical perspectives on treatment and confinement (pp. 210-234). Palgrave Macmillan.
Cunneen, C., & Tauri, J. (2016). Indigenous criminology. Policy Press.
Davidson, J. (2023). Blood & dirt: Prison labour and the making of New Zealand. Bridget Williams Books.
Deckert, A., & Sarre, R. (Eds.). (2017). The Palgrave handbook of Australian and New Zealand criminology, crime and justice. Palgrave MacMillan.
Derby, M. (2020). Rock college: An unofficial history of Mount Eden prison. Massey University Press.
Finn, J. & Mathias, D. (2019). Criminal procedure in New Zealand. Thomson Reuters.
Gibbs, A., & Gilmour, F. E. (2022). Women, crime and justice in context: Contemporary perspectives in feminist criminology from Australia and New Zealand. Routledge.
Gilbert, J., & Newbold, G. (2017). Criminal justice: A New Zealand introduction. Auckland University Press.
Gilmour, F., & Gibson, K. (2022). Shifting trends and discourses in women's imprisonment in Aotearoa New Zealand. In I Masson & N. Booth (Eds.), The Routledge handbook of women's experiences of criminal justice. Routledge.
Lamusse, T. (2021). Lessons from the prison abolitionist movement in Aotearoa/New Zealand. In M. J. Coyle & D. G. Scott (Eds.), The Routledge international handbook of penal abolition (pp. 50-59). Routledge.
McIntosh, T., & Goldmann, B. (2017). Locked up: Incarceration in Aotearoa New Zealand. In A. Bell, V. Elizabeth, T. McIntosh & M. Wynyard (Eds.), A land of milk and honey?: Making sense of Aotearoa New Zealand (pp. 168-177). Auckland University Press.
Mills, A., & Webb, R. (2022). Rehabilitation, restoration and reintegration in Aotearoa New Zealand. In M. Vanstone & P. Priestley (Eds.), The Palgrave handbook of global rehabilitation in criminal justice (pp. 429-448). Springer.
Newbold, G. (2013). The emergence of the supermax in New Zealand. In J. I. Ross (Ed.), The globalization of supermax prisons (pp. 111-128). Rutgers University Press.
Newbold, G. (2016). Crime, law and justice in New Zealand. Routledge.
Polaschek, D. L. L., & Mackie, H. A. (2024). Probation/parole supervision in Aotearoa New Zealand. In I. Durnescu, J. M. Byrne, B. J. Mackey & F. S. Taxman (Eds.), The Routledge handbook on global community corrections (pp. 502-517). Routledge.
Pratt, J. (2013). A punitive society: Falling crime and rising imprisonment in New Zealand. Bridget Williams Books.
Stanley, E., Bradley, T., Monod de Froidville, S. (Eds.). (2021). The Aotearoa handbook of criminology. Auckland University Press.
Stanley, E., & Mihaere, R. (2018). Challenging Māori imprisonment and human rights ritualism. In E. Stanely (Ed.), Human rights and incarceration (pp. 79-102). Springer
Tamatea, A. J., Day, A. J., & Cooke, D. J. (Eds.). (2024). Preventing prison violence: An ecological perspective. Routledge. Has a number of chapters by NZ authors
Taylor, A. (2011). The prison systems and its effects: Wherefrom, whereto, and why? Nova Science.
Toki, V. (2018). Indigenous courts, self-determination and criminal justice. Routledge.
Waerea-i-te-rangi Smith, C., Rattray, H., & Romana, L. (2019). Reclaiming our people following imprisonment. In E. A. McKinley & L. Tuhiwai Smith (Eds.), Handbook of indigenous education (pp. 671-693). Springer.
Hardcopy books:
Bradley, T., & Walters, R. (2011). Introduction to criminological thought (2nd ed.). Pearson.
Burnett, R. I. M. (1995). Hard labour, hard fare and a hard bed: New Zealand's search for its own penal philosophy. National Archives of New Zealand.
D'Souza, R. (1997). Prison industries: Reversing on the fast lane: A study of prison labour in Aotearoa New Zealand. New Zealand Trade Union Federation.
Lamusse, T. (2018). Solitary confinement in New Zealand prisons. Economic and Social Research Aotearoa.
Leask, A. (2017). Behind bars: Real-life stories from inside New Zealand's prisons. Penguin.
Newbold, G. (1989). Punishment and politics: The maximum security prison in New Zealand. Oxford University Press.
Newbold, G. (2016). The problem of prisons: Corrections reform in New Zealand since 1840. Dunmore
Pratt, J. (1992). Punishment in a perfect society: The New Zealand penal system, 1840-1939. Victoria University Press.
Tauri, J. (2005). Indigenous perspectives and experience: Māori and the criminal justice system. In R. Walters & T Bradley (Eds.), Introduction to criminological thought (pp. 1-21). Pearson
Tolmie, J., & Brookbanks, W. J. (2007). Criminal justice in New Zealand. LexisNexis.
A key journal for criminological research in Australia and New Zealand is:
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Criminology
Other New Zealand criminology research can be found by searching:
Ministry of Corrections: Resources - Includes links to policy, research and statistics
Ministry of Justice: Research and data
Ministry of Justice. (2001). He hinatore ki te ao Māori: A glimpse into the Māori world. Māori perspectives on justice. Ministry of Justice.
Office of the Inspectorate - Prison inspection reports
Ombudsman resources - prisoners/corrections
Statistics New Zealand - Crime and justice data
Te Puni Kōkiri - Insights, reports and data
The Macmillan Brown Library provides access to a number of archival collections that are of relevance to criminal justice in New Zealand. For more information about these collections see Archival Collections.
