Journal articles and databases - Geography | Mātai Matawhenua - Subject Guides at University of Canterbury

GeoRef

GeoRef is the best database for Geology and other related subjects like Physical Geography.

Scopus

Scopus is multidisciplinary and useful for finding articles on any science or social science topic.

Google Scholar

This is Google's free multidisciplinary database that can be used for any topic.

Keenious

Keenious uses an AI recommendation engine to provide you with relevant research articles.

Useful for Certain Topics

Compendex
Access to engineering information from the databases Compendex, U.S. patent and trademark office and Website abstracts.
Overton

Overton is a large and searchable database of documents written by and for policy-makers. Listing documents from governments, NGOs, IGO and think tanks, Overton’s key value is in linking academic documents to policy. Overton allows you to identify where research has been referenced in policy.

Note: To access, scroll down to the Open Athens access option and search for ‘University of Canterbury’ - use the ‘OpenAthens’ option. Then log in with your usual UC credentials.
PreventionWeb
PreventionWeb is a global knowledge sharing platform for disaster risk reduction and resilience maintained by the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR).
Resource Management
Resource Management legislation and commentary for New Zealand.
SciFinderⁿ

Broad coverage of chemical literature and substance information, including biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology and chemical engineering. SciFinderⁿ also has PatentPak, MethodsNow, Retrosynthesis Planning and Biosequence Searching
Transport Research International Documentation
Includes all modes and disciplines in the field of transportation, such as highways, transit, railroads, maritime, aviation. Covers Books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles and on-going research.