Subject Guides: Cinema Studies: Current journals

Recommended databases

American Film Scripts Online
Aaward-winning, critically-acclaimed and important U.S. film scripts from 1903-2006, with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Browse or search by genre, subject, year, etc. Facsimile images for more than 500 of the screenplays are included. The primary focus of the database is the written work, rather than the film itself. Allows users to see and understand the structure of films, character development, beginnings and endings, plot points and scenes.
Art Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and indexing of peer-selected publications, with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Subject coverage includes art and architectural history, film/cinema, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television and video.
ARTbibliographies modern
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogues, etc. on all forms of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century onwards. Subjects covered include art history and theory, aesthetics and philosophy of art, ethnic and tribal art, museums and galleries, society and art, architecture, design, drawing and illustration, films and film-making, installation art, painting, photography since its invention, prints and printmaking, sculpture, typography, performance art.
Dissertation Abstracts Online
Index of abstracts of dissertations submitted for doctoral and postdoctoral degrees. Titles published since 1997 have 24 page previews available.
Factiva
International newspaper content for finding film reviews and other contemporary content.
Film Literature Index
Freely accessible site that annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
Index New Zealand
Multidisciplinary coverage of material published in and about New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Content includes Academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in many subjects. Does not include current journal issues; content is updated according to a "moving wall" process.
Kanopy
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies. Contents includes documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines.
Note: Some Kanopy content may be restricted to users 18 and over. Where this applies, you must be 18 years of age or older to access this material. Please exercise caution.
MLA International Bibliography
Literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
Oxford Reference Online
An online collection of the well-known Oxford dictionaries on a wide variety of subjects.
Project Muse
Searchable full-text, includes recent issues of journals

Current Journals for Cinema Studies

Below is a title alphabetical browse list of currently-available journals (aka periodicals or serials) for this subject area, mostly in ejournal format accessible via the online links provided. NB: The list doesn't include periodicals held by the Library that are no longer received up to the present, such as those not currently published. All UC Library journal titles may be found by searching the Library catalogue or Multisearch.

Adaptation :the journal of literature on screen studies.
Full text available from Oxford Journals Current Collection: 2008 to present

American cinematographer.
Central Library TR 845 .A512

American cinematographer
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/05/1998 to present

Animation magazine
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/06/1998 to present
Full text available from PressReader: 01/12/2013 to present

Camera obscura
Full text available from Duke University Press: 1976 to present
Full text available from Project Muse Standard Collection: 2000 to 2004

Cinema journal
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 01/09/1996 to 31/07/2018
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/09/1996 to 31/07/2018
Full text available from JSTOR Arts & Sciences III: 01/01/1966 to 31/07/2018
Full text available from Project Muse Standard Collection: 01/09/1999 to 2018

Cinéaste
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 01/02/1990 to present
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/02/1990 to present
Full text available from JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI: 01/07/1967 to 2 years ago

Continuum.
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Open access Read & Publish: 01/01/1997 to present

Film comment
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 01/11/2002 to 31/05/2020

Film criticism.
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 01/03/1976 to present
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/09/1993 to present
Full text available from DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals: 2016 to present
Full text available from Humanities International Complete: 01/09/2005 to present

Film & history
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/05/2003 to present
Full text available from Project Muse Standard Collection: 01/03/1971 to present

Film history : an international journal.
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/03/2004 to present
Full text available from JSTOR Arts & Sciences V: 01/01/1987 to 4 years ago
Full text available from Project Muse Standard Collection: 2005 to present

Film international
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/02/2006 to present

Film journal international
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/10/2008 to 31/12/2018

Film quarterly.
Full text available from JSTOR Arts & Sciences III: 01/10/1958 to 4 years ago
Full text available from Literature Online (LION): 01/10/2000 to 31/12/2012
Full text available from University of California Press Journals: 2001 to present

Framework
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 15/04/2002 to present
Full text available from JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI: 01/01/1980 to 31/10/2019

Historical journal of film, radio and television.
Full text available from Humanities International Complete: 01/03/1990 to 15 months ago
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Open access Read & Publish: 01/01/1981 to present

Journal of film and video
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/03/2003 to present
Full text available from JSTOR Arts & Sciences V: 01/01/1984 to 31/10/2019
Full text available from Project Muse Standard Collection: 01/03/2008 to present
Full text available from Factiva: 01/01/1997 to 22/03/2021

The journal of popular film and television :JPF & T.
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 01/01/1990 to 15 months ago
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/01/1994 to 15 months ago
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Open access Read & Publish: 01/01/1997 to present

Literature film quarterly.
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 01/01/1973 to 31/07/2001
Full text available from Literature Online (LION): 01/01/1973 to 30/04/2016

Millennium film journal
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/06/2005 to present

The moving image : the journal of the Association of Moving Image Archivists.
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/03/2005 to present
Full text available from JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI: 01/04/2001 to 31/10/2019
Full text available from Project Muse Standard Collection: 01/03/2003 to present

New review of film and television studies.
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Open access Read & Publish: 01/11/2003 to present

On film
Full text available from Factiva: 01/01/1998 to present

Quarterly review of film and video :QRFV.
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Open access Read & Publish: 01/01/1997 to present

Revue canadienne d'études cinématographiques = Canadian journal of film studies.
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/05/2007 to present

Science fiction film and television
Full text available from Liverpool University Press Journals: 04/01/2008 to present

Screen.
Full text available from Oxford Journals Current Collection: 1996 to present

Senses of cinema.
Full text available from Freely Accessible Arts & Humanities Journals: 20/11/1999 to present

Sight and sound.
Central Library PN 1993 .S575

Sight and sound
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/01/2000 to present

Studies in Australasian cinema.
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/01/2007 to present
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Open access Read & Publish: 01/01/2007 to present

Studies in documentary film
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/01/2007 to present
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Open access Read & Publish: 01/01/2007 to present

Studies in French cinema.
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 01/01/2001 to 30/11/2019
Full text available from Humanities International Complete: 01/01/2001 to 30/11/2019
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Open access Read & Publish: 01/01/2001 to 31/10/2019

Studies in Russian and Soviet cinema.
Full text available from Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): 01/01/2007 to present
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Open access Read & Publish: 01/01/2006 to present

The velvet light trap
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 01/03/2000 to 1 year ago
Full text available from Humanities International Complete: 01/03/2000 to 1 year ago
Full text available from Project Muse Standard Collection: 01/03/2003 to present

What are journal articles?

Journal articles are written by academics and researchers around the world and published in scholarly or peer reviewed journals. These can be valuable sources of information for academic essays.

Find academic articles by searching: