Subject Guides: Astronomy and Astrophysics: Journal Articles

MultiSearch

Academic Journal Articles

Interloan

If you cannot find it at UC Library or online, request an Interloan and we will get it for you from another library. There is no charge for this service

Comparing Journals

To compare journal bibliometrics consider using:

See also Measuring Impact for more information.

Journal Title Abbreviations

Reviews of Modern Physics Style Guide – Appendix B, Journal title abbreviations
“Standard abbreviations for the names of many journals commonly cited in the physics
research literature.”

CAS Source Index (CASSI)
Search for journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907
Journal Abbreviations (Illinois University Library)

Key Databases for Astronomy and Astrophysics

To find specific articles within journals, try one of the indexing services below. Each database has its own subject focus, date range and usage quirks – contact me for ideas on getting the best results.

NASA ADS (Astrophysics Data System)
Combined databases of 13+ million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics and Physics. Operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant
more...less...
Users can enable linking to UC Library full-text subscriptions; click this link for instructions – choose “University of Canterbury” from the list
INSPIRE
High-Energy Physics Literature Database from CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature. To see UC Library resources, use ≡ Scholar Preferences and choose University of Canterbury in the Library Links section.

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mathematics, computer science, statistics and econometrics. Note: UC access ceases on 31 December 2024.
zbMATH Open This link opens in a new window
Formerly Zentralblatt MATH. “The world’s most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. It is edited by the European Mathematical Society (EMS), the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and FIZ Karlsruhe.” Coverage complete from 1868 to the present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text of journals published by Elsevier Science. Primary science, medicine and technology. Some titles from social science and commerce.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary, especially Life, Health and Physical Sciences.

ScienceOpen
A freely-accessible research network that aggregates open-access articles from a variety of sources.

Google Scholar – Tips and Tricks

Provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature

Use Scholar Preferences

to import references into EndNote, BibTeX, etc: amend Bibliography manager details in the Search results section
- Import one citation at a time using the “Import into . . .” link
- Log in to import several citations at once (instructions on the EndNote Guide )
to show Full-Text @ UC Library, choose ”University of Canterbury“ in the Library Links section

Use Google Scholar Library to organise your references

Search Tips to Find Specific Articles

1. When you already have an article’s citation details, find it with one of these tools:

Electronic Article Lookup

Full Text Finder quick search

Search in MultiSearch or one of the key Astronomy databases.

2. If the citation you have is limited or not quite right, try browsing within the journal:

Electronic Journal Search

Print Journal Search
Search by journal title in the library catalogue. Check what years/volumes we have in the Holdings tab.

Full title – use the “Browse Alphabetically: By Title” option, e.g. astronomical journal
Abbreviated title – use “Journal Title” option. Type an asterisk directly after each part of the abbreviation, e.g. astron* j*

Browse Astronomy and Astrophysics Journals

Online

Publications UC Library subscribes to
- Astronomy journals.
Free, open-access journals.
Science.gov > Physics – databases and websites from US government agencies.

In print

Find via the library catalogue
- A-Z list of astronomy journals.

Library Subject Guides

Astronomy and Astrophysics: Journal Articles