Education: Finding Māori Dictionaries

Papakupu - Māori Dictionaries

Here are some papakupu - Māori dictionaries - to get you started.

We have lots more on the shelves too, just click these catalogue keyword searches for papakupu or maori dictionary

Papakupu online

Te Aka Dictionary Māori - English, English - Māori, this is the up to date and online version of Te Aka dictionary by John C. Moorfield.
He Pātaka Kupu Te Reo Māori anake, this is the online version of He Pātaka Kupu: Te kai o te rangatira by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori.
Ngata Dictionary Māori - English, English - Māori dictionary explicitly (but not exclusively) based on Ngāti Porou and East Coast dialect and idiom. Complements the use of other dictionaries produced by agencies such as Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori.
Paekupu Māori - English, English - Māori, this is Te Papakupu o Te Marautanga o Aotearoa, which is focused on the learning areas within Te Marautanga.

Wakareo ā-ipurangi This link opens in a new window
Compilation of a number of separate Maori-English and English-Maori dictionary, lexicon, and word-list resources with new resources added incrementally

Te reo Māori anake

Picture Dictionaries

Papakupu - Bilingual

Te aka dictionary by John C. Moorfield
Māori-English, English-Māori
The Raupō dictionary of modern Māori by P.M. Ryan
Māori-English, English-Māori
Te Matatiki: Contemporary Māori words by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori
Māori-English, English-Māori
A dictionary of the Māori language by H. W. Williams
Māori - English
The complete English-Maori dictionary by Bruce Biggs
English - Māori
English-Māori dictionary by H.M. Ngata
English - Māori

Papakupu - Education specific

Phrasebooks