Digital Collections of historic maps.

Many libraries and other institutions have collections of digitised historic maps. Here are some places to start:

• DigitalNZ. Once you have done a search you can limit your results to More > Maps.
• National Library's Cartographic Collection.
• New Zealand Heritage Maps. Early maps of European settlement in New Zealand, held by Archives NZ, digitised by NZMS.
• MapsPast. Lands & Survey/ LINZ maps. "'The latest maps' as of the last day of each decade from 1899 to 2009".

Identifying and locating historic maps.

Print bibliographies remain useful for identifying maps in both digital collections and paper sources. For a guide to published map bibliographies, see A guide to finding New Zealand historical maps. Also of interest is From sextants to satellites: A cartographic time line for New Zealand.

The Macmillan Brown Library has these bibliographies of New Zealand maps:

• Maps: A catalogue of historical maps in the Canterbury Museum. Maps are listed by subject. Includes a list of chief surveyors of the Canterbury District.
• Maps of Canterbury and the West Coast: A selected bibliography. Maps are listed by region.
• Maps in New Zealand Provincial Council papers. Many of the Canterbury maps are on CCL website-digital maps
• Maps in the Appendices to the Journals, House of Representatives: A chronological listing
• Maps of New Zealand appearing in British Parliamentary papers.
• New Zealand maps published in nineteenth century periodicals: A checklist. Maps are listed by date with geographical and personal name indexes at the back.
• Early New Zealand printed maps.
• Map making and map keeping in New Zealand: A review and bibliography. Pages 16-20 lists cartobibliographies and map exhibition catalogues. The rest of the book deals with map making and how to keep maps with many being articles from journals.

Christchurch and Canterbury maps

To find historic Christchurch and Canterbury maps, see the Ōtautahi-Christchurch subject guide.

Aerial photographs

• Retrolens Historic Image Resource. Aerial photographs from regional and city councils across the country. 1936-2005