Featured encyclopedia

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks for Biochemistry

You can request any print items through the Library catalogue

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks for Chemistry

You can request any print items through the Library catalogue

General encyclopedias & dictionaries of chemistry

Encyclopedias are a good starting point for research as they allow you to get a broad background to your topic. Try a dictionary for a brief explanation of a term.

Ashford's dictionary of industrial chemicals : properties, production, uses
EPS Library QD 5 .A825

Chemical technicians' ready reference handbook
EPS Library QD 61 .S562 1996

Directory of graduate research.
EPS Library QD 40 Z 5525 .U5 .A512

Encyclopedia of computational chemistry
EPS Library QD 39.3 .E46 .E56

Encyclopedia of separation science
EPS Library QD 63 .S4 .E56 2000

Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary.
EPS Library QD 5 .C745 1997

Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Connect to electronic resource (Library has access to content published up to 2012)

Lange's handbook of chemistry.
EPS Library QD 65 .L274 2005

Macmillan encyclopedia of chemistry
EPS Library QD 4 .M167 1997

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of chemistry
EPS Library QD 5 .M147

Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry
Connect to electronic resource (Library has access to content published up to 2012)

Specialised organic & inorganic chemistry resources

Organic chemistry

Comprehensive coordination chemistry II :from biology to nanotechnology
EPS Library QD 474 .C737 2004

Dictionary of organic compounds.
EPS Library QD 251 .H466 1982

Dictionary of organometallic compounds.
EPS Library QD 411 .D544

Elsevier's encyclopaedia of organic chemistry
EPS Library QD 251 .E49

Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis
EPS Library QD 77 .E56

Handbook of data on organic compounds
EPS Library QD 257.7 .C0911 1994

Rodd's Chemistry of carbon compounds : a modern comprehensive treatise.
EPS Library QD 251 .R686 1964

Inorganic chemistry

Comprehensive inorganic chemistry
EPS Library QD 151 .S671 c

A comprehensive treatise on inorganic and theoretical chemistry.
EPS Library QD 31 .M527

Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry
EPS Library QD 148 .E56

Physical property & related data

Ashford's dictionary of industrial chemicals : properties, production, uses
EPS Library QD 5 .A825

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics.
EPS Library QD 65 .C0911

Lange's handbook of chemistry.
EPS Library QD 65 .L274 2005

The Merck index :an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals
EPS Library Reference RS 51 .M555 2001

Powder diffraction file : inorganic volume.
EPS Library QD 945 .P881

Powder diffraction file :organic volume.
EPS Library QD 945 .P881