Subject Guides: Mathematics: Academics

Research

A guide to open access at UC. Other tabs on the site give details about ORCID and Prepaid Open Access Agreements.
Stages in the research process
Created by Research & Innovation and UC Library, this portal brings together resources to support researchers at every stage of the research life cycle with a curated list of links to the people, resources and information.
Researcher Support at UC (Intranet)
Includes links to pages about research funding, consulting, IP, commercialisation, tools and resources.
Elements
A database for capturing information about UC research outputs, Student Supervisions, Grants, Professional Activities and PBRF Portfolios (replaces many functions formerly in Profiler)
PBRF and Elements support
Contact details of PBRF Advisors (UC Research & Innovation)
UC Research Repository
An open-access database of original research authored by Canterbury academics, researchers and postgraduate students. The aim of the Repository is to expose UC-authored research to as wide an audience as possible, by providing free access to full-text research through common Internet search tools, such as Google Scholar and Scopus

more... less...

Search for ‘Music’ – possibly first Browse by Communities & Collections

ORCiD
An important registry of unique researcher identifiers
Researcher Profiles (Clarivate)
“Web of Science Researcher Profiles help you raise your visibility in the worldwide research community. In a few easy steps you can share a complete view of your achievements to attract collaborators and funders.… Open to all researchers… no product subscription is required.”
Copyright
Guidance for UC academic staff and students
Gen-AI at UC (Intranet)
Includes gen-AI tools at UC, and gen-AI in teaching and learning and in research.

UC Library research guides

1. Plan your Research
by Dave Lane Last Updated Oct 9, 2025 2004 views this year
2. Find & Manage Research Literature
by Dave Lane Last Updated Dec 1, 2025 4141 views this year
3. Doing the Research
by Dave Lane Last Updated Nov 10, 2025 1306 views this year
4. Writing up your Research
by Nick Scullin Last Updated Oct 21, 2025 6951 views this year
5. Publish & Share
by Kiera Tauro Last Updated Nov 28, 2025 4741 views this year
6. Measure Impact
by Kiera Tauro Last Updated Nov 4, 2025 607 views this year
EndNote Guide
by University of Canterbury Library Last Updated Sep 4, 2025 57933 views this year
Figshare
by Anton Angelo Last Updated Sep 1, 2025 268 views this year
Kaupapa Māori Research
by Lisa Davies Last Updated Sep 1, 2025 1507 views this year
Keenious Guide
by Nick Scullin Last Updated Sep 16, 2025 1717 views this year
Open access: Latest news and trends
by Kiera Tauro Last Updated Sep 1, 2025 664 views this year
Research Workshops and Training
by Anton Angelo Last Updated Sep 1, 2025 256 views this year
Systematic Reviews
by Margaret Paterson Last Updated Nov 13, 2025 1511 views this year

On this guide

Teaching

Teaching support
Includes details on Textbook Selection and Provision at UC
Link maker for online resources
Generates stable links (e.g., for AKO | LEARN) that will log UC students and staff into the Library’s subscribed online resources via OpenAthens or other suitable methods.
Copyright
Guidance for UC academic staff and students
Adding resources to High Demand collections
Includes help on adding Course Materials
Can My Students Read My Books? (U.K.)
Guidance for academics on negotiating ebook contracts with publishers

AKO | LEARN and additional content

Books

In-print books: the Library can apply to Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ) for a transactional licence when an additional 10% from any in-print book is required (up to 20% in total from the in-print book). For now the Library will pay for these transactional licences.
Out-of-print books: the Library can apply to CLNZ for OOP licences. The content used can be up to 100% of an out-of-print book if the application is accepted.
- If the Library owns or can purchase an ebook version, no licences will be sought, unless the ebook access is limited to one or three users

Electronic journal articles

If the Library does not hold an article in print format or provide electronic access, the Library can apply to publishers to purchase specific articles, provided the publisher offers such a service, or seek to Interloan a copyright-licence-compliant copy (please do not request materials for AKO | LEARN through our Interloans system as extra steps are required by us):
Please email the Library at learncopyright@canterbury.ac.nz with details of the article/item, the course code, student numbers and timeframe required

For any requests or questions, contact the Library via learncopyright@canterbury.ac.nz

Teaching technology

Teaching and Learning Support Hub (Intranet)
Help for staff with educational technology, course design and learning enhancement tools. Includes support for AKO | LEARN and the adding of course material of scanned copyright documents.
Technology Enabled Learning Facility (TELF)
○ Practise using and/or receive training in the use of the teaching technologies (lectern) found in UC teaching spaces.
○ Create teaching materials (video recordings, narrated PowerPoint presentations etc.).
○ Teach classes and conduct tutorials to students at a distance using web conferencing (Adobe Connect, Zoom).

Information resources

Collection information for Library Liaison Officers
Each academic department has a designated person to act as their Library Liaison Officer (LLO). It is a voluntary role, and the person selected to undertake the responsibilities is organised by the department.

Recommendations to purchase: email John Arnold (Subject Librarian for Music) for books, journals* and databases*
- Journals and databases undergo an annual review process (normally in July) in which new resources with an ongoing financial commitment are considered. The Library considers new recommendations for subscription submitted at other times during the year on a case-by-case basis
Library Storage: by appointment only, UC academics and postgraduates can request to browse library materials that are shelved in storage. To make an appointment, please email library staff

Subject guides
Pathfinders to resources at UC, tailored for each subject

Library activities

Mō te mahi | Working here – Library Services
Library Projects, Library Resources, Library Support and University Librarian’s Reports.

Personal archives and papers

Information and Records Management provide general information about the destruction, archiving or permanent retention of University records, including research data.

For other material, the UC Library Archives Collection Development Plan 2017–2027 and Information for Donors outlines the factors that guide decision-making on the type of material that is suitable for the UC Library archives.

Contacts
UC Library staff work with academic staff to identify the material most appropriate for archiving.

Library Subject Guides

Mathematics: Academics