Electronic Article Lookup

Full Text Finder quick search
When you already have an article’s citation details – works best with a DOI

Electronic Journal Search

MultiSearch

Search across a range of Library resources, including

• the Library Catalogue
• most Library databases
• some digital collections

Interloan

If you cannot find it at UC Library or online, request an Interloan and we will get it for you from another library. There is no charge for this service

Comparing Journals

To compare journal bibliometrics consider using:

See also Measuring Impact  for more information.

Finding Articles

To find specific articles within journals try one of the following indexing services

Open-Access Databases (free)

Google Scholar – Tips and Tricks

Provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature

Use Scholar Preferences

• to import references into EndNote, BibTeX, etc: amend Bibliography manager details in the Search results section
  • Import one citation at a time using the “Import into . . .” link
  • Log in to import several citations at once (instructions on the EndNote Guide )
• to show Full-Text @ UC Library, choose ”University of Canterbury“ in the Library Links section

Use Google Scholar Library to organise your references

Finding Journals

The Library catalogue provides details of all UC holdings for journal titles (print and electronic), both journals with a current subscription and those without a current subscription but for which the Library has retained holdings.

A few pointers

• "journal title keywords" search works best when truncating with an asterisk
• there are separate records for print and electronic journals
• there are separate records for mergers and/or name changes of journals
• which issues/volumes the library has is indicated in the Library holdings summary
• once barcoded specific issues/volumes are displayed under "Show items" link

A separate listing of publications can also be browsed by subject category or by publisher.