Subject Guides: Chemistry: Websites

Searching the Web

Whether your favourite search engine is Google, Yahoo, Bing, DuckDuckGo or something else, it is often useful to compare your results across engines – they all search different subsections of the web and rate their results with different algorithms

To find journal articles, try one of the recommended Chemistry databases

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
A multidisciplinary search engine for Open Access resources with scientific content. Covers many university institutional repositories and publisher sites.
Chemical Information Sources Wikibook
A guide to the many sources of reference materials available to those with questions related to chemistry, regardless of the format
Chemicalize
Uses ChemAxon‘s Name-to-Structure parsing to identify chemical structures on webpages and other text. Related to each structure, structure-based predictions are available, and a search interface is provided to discovery substructures or similar structures
ECS Electrochemistry Knowledge
Regularly updated index to the electrochemistry literature (books, proceedings, articles and websites) together with a dictionary and an encyclopedia
Google Books
Search the full-text of books. Note that for copyright reasons full-text is often not available for reading online but you may find an excerpt or table of contents.
Mednar.com
A federated search of public and subscription collections such as Cochrane Library, PubMed and Medline plus.
Organic Syntheses
Online journal that provides “detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds”
Science.gov
Searches US government science databases and websites, including research and development results.
ScienceResearch
Retrieves science-specific results from across the Web, including blogs, wikis and deep web sources.
WorldWideScience
A global science gateway to national and international scientific databases.
WolframAlpha
Useful when searching for quick answers. See Chemistry search examples.

Library Subject Guides

Chemistry: Websites

Searching the Web