Subject Guides: Chemistry: Syntheses

Finding Information on Chemical Syntheses

ChemSpider SyntheticPages
A freely accessible database of practical procedures in synthetic chemistry, including frequently encountered problems and troubleshooting tips
ChemSynthesis
A freely accessible database of chemicals that contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density.
Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
A multivolume reference work in print (EPS Library, Level 2, QD 77 .H236), useful for information on reagents as well as synthesis methods.
more...less...
Contents of volumes held by UC Library:
1. Reagents, auxiliaries, and catalysts for C-C bond formation.
2. Oxidizing and reducing agents.
3. Acidic and basic reagents.
4. Activating agents and protecting groups.
5. Chiral reagents for asymmetric synthesis.
8. Reagents for direct functionalization of C-H bonds.
9. Fluorine-containing reagents.
Inorganic Syntheses
Print journal (EPS Library, Level 1: QD 151 .I58 s)
Use the indexes to find specific syntheses – each volume has an index and there is a cumulative index for volumes 1–30.
Merck Index
Print edition only (EPS Library, Reference Collection on Level 1, RS 51 .M555 2001)
Entries contain some bibliographic references; there may be references to methods of synthesis.
Brief how-to-use page (from NCSU Libraries via the Wayback Machine)
Organic Chemistry Portal
An overview of recent topics, interesting reactions and information on important chemicals for organic chemists
Organic Syntheses
Online journal that provides “detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds”
Synthetic Reaction Updates (RSC)
A literature updating service keeping you up to date with recent developments in synthetic organic chemistry. Covering a wide range of primary sources, Synthetic Reaction Updates includes the most important reactions published in the recent scientific literature, presented as easy to read reaction schemes that are searchable by topic and reaction type.

Library Catalogue Searches

Library Subject Guides

Chemistry: Syntheses

Finding Information on Chemical Syntheses