Subject Guides: Medical Physics: Journal Articles

MultiSearch

Academic Journal Articles

“Content providers” filter selected for providers more relevant to medical physics

Interloan

If you cannot find it at UC Library or online, request an Interloan and we will get it for you from another library. There is no charge for this service

Comparing Journals

To compare journal bibliometrics consider using:

See also Measuring Impact for more information.

Journal Title Abbreviations

Reviews of Modern Physics Style Guide – Appendix B, Journal title abbreviations
“Standard abbreviations for the names of many journals commonly cited in the physics
research literature.”

CAS Source Index (CASSI)
Search for journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907
Journal Abbreviations (Illinois University Library)

Key Medical Physics Databases

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of systematic reviews and clinical trial databases with a focus on evidence-based healthcare
Europe PMC This link opens in a new window
An open-access database of biomedical and life-sciences literature, including research articles, preprints, micropublications, books, reviews and protocols

Google Scholar
Many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large biomedical database, the free version Medline is provided through PubMed
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medicine and related disciplines
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary, especially Life, Health and Physical Sciences.

ScienceOpen
A freely-accessible research network that aggregates open-access articles from a variety of sources.

Google Scholar – Tips and Tricks

Provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature

Use Scholar Preferences

to import references into EndNote, BibTeX, etc: amend Bibliography manager details in the Search results section
- Import one citation at a time using the “Import into . . .” link
- Log in to import several citations at once (instructions on the EndNote Guide )
to show Full-Text @ UC Library, choose ”University of Canterbury“ in the Library Links section

Use Google Scholar Library to organise your references

Search Tips to Find Specific Articles

1. When you already have an article’s citation details, find it with one of these tools:

Search in MultiSearch or one of the key Medical Physics databases.

Full Text Finder quick search (works best with a DOI)

2. If the citation you have is limited or not quite right, try browsing within the journal:

Electronic Journal Search

Print Journal Search
Search by journal title in the library catalogue. Check what years/volumes we have in the Holdings tab.

Full title – use the “Browse Alphabetically: By Title” option, e.g. medical physics
Abbreviated title – use “Journal Title” option. Type an asterisk directly after each part of the abbreviation, e.g. med* phys*

Browse Medical Physics Journals

Online

Journals UC Library subscribes to: radiology, medical physics, MRI, ultrasound.
Free, open-access journals (DOAJ).

In print

Request through the library catalogue.

Key titles include:

Library Subject Guides

Medical Physics: Journal Articles