Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

Health Sciences: Health Statistics

Historical NZ statistics

The New Zealand Official Yearbook, which ceased publication in 2012, is a good source of historical statistics. Digital editions from 1893-2012 can be accessed here and print copies here

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand includes a number of articles relating to health in New Zealand

Understanding Aotearoa/New Zealand: Historical statistics, the social indicators chapter has a selection of health statistics including, public hospital surgery waiting lists, suicide rates, alcohol consumption and traffic accidents.

New Zealand health statistics

New Zealand Ministry of Health

NZ Health Statistics  a quick way to locate data and statistics produced by the Ministry of Health and wider health sector in New Zealand. Information on:

  • national collections and surveys
  • publications
  • a classification and terminology section
  • information regarding access and use of data and statistics from the Ministry's collections

Pacific health data and statistics the Ministry of Health has published a number of titles containing Pacific health information

Statistics New Zealand
Statistics New Zealand also collects and publishes health statistics. 

NZ Injury Query System produced by the Injury Prevention Research Unit at the University of Otago.

ACC Injury Statistics Tool A range of statistics including paid injury claims.

 

International health statistics

Eldis Links to sources of information on developing countries. Includes over 30,000 summaries on topics such as health, health systems, gender, and agriculture and food.

Gapminder a tool for visualising statistics about social and economic variables at local, national and international levels

GlobalHealth.gov US Dept of Health and Human Services.

HealthMap Useful to monitor disease outbreaks worldwide. Includes mobile app, 'Outbreaks Near Me'.

National Center for Health Statistics (U.S.A.)

OECD iLibrary Contains statistics from OECD, includs health statistics

UC Atlas of Global Inequality (University of California Santa Cruz)

UNICEF statistics The UN agency responsible for monitoring the situation of women and children. Statistics available for individual countries, customized tables comparing countries can also be created.

WHO data and statistics 

WHO Global Health Observatory (GHO)

WHO Statistical Information System

World Bank - Health, nutrition and population statistics World Bank's database of statistics like the Global Health Repository it can be searched by theme, indicator and country

WHO Global Health Repository statistics that can be searched by theme, indicator and country

University Library
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140

Phone: +64 3 369 4888 (ext 94888)
Email
library@canterbury.ac.nz

Follow us
Facebook Twitter Youtube