MHRA Citation StyleAPA Citation StyleEndnote WikiWriting Guides
This is the "Home" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides

Music  

Resource guide for UC students and staff
Last Updated: Aug 3, 2014 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/musi Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online includes Grove Music OnlineOxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music

This search box will only work on campus. For off-campus searching use this link

Search Oxford Music Online

Key databases

Use databases to search for relevant articles in a wide range of journals. The databases below are recommended for Music topics. For more information and choices see Databases for Music.

 

Welcome to the Music Library Guide

How do I find...?

Dictionaries & encyclopedias | Books | Music scores | Journal articles CDs, DVDs, Audio  

Assignment help

Assignment research | Referencing/Citing | Writing guides

Topic guides

 Music Education Special Collections |  Other libraries & catalogues

Quick links

Oxford Music Online Naxos Music Library | School of Music | UC's Learn

This Guide is a pathfinder to Music resources in the UC Library, maintained by the Liaison Librarian for Music.

 

SOUNZ Centre for New Zealand Music access

The Library now has a subscription to SOUNZ Centre for New Zealand Music. If you want to borrow from the SOUNZ Library please contact Glenda Keam . 

 

New books and scores in the Library this week (RSS feed)

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

New books in the Library

Cover Art
Playing before the Lord: the life and work of Joseph Haydn. - Clavin R. Stapert
ISBN: 0802868525
Publication Date: 2014
"In this fascinating book Calvin Stapert combines his skills as a biographer and a musicologist to recount Haydn's steady rise from humble origins to true musical greatness. Unlike other biographers, Stapert argues that Haydn's work was a product of his devout Catholic faith, even though he worked mainly as a court musician and the bulk of his output was in popular genres. In addition to telling Haydn's life story, Stapert includes accessible listening guides to The Creation and portions of other well-known works to help Haydn listeners more fully appreciate the brilliance behind his music." Publisher

Cover Art
Bach: music in the castle of heaven - John Eliot Gardiner
ISBN: 0375415297
Publication Date: 2013
“With Bach we seek the elusive man hiding, perhaps, under the dense, spectacular music. . . .As eloquent a writer as he is a musician, Gardiner brings to his study the invaluable perspective of the practitioner. . . . One of the stars of the revolution over the past 50 years that has brought period instruments into the mainstream of early-music performance. . . . [Gardiner’s] depth of knowledge permeates his writing.”
–The New York Times Book Review

“Typical John Eliot to combine so much erudition with even more passion and enthusiasm. It made me want to rush and listen to all the pieces whether familiar or unfamiliar. A treasure chest.”
–Simon Rattle, principal conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic

Cover Art
World music: a global journey. 3rd. ed. - T.E. Miller & A. Shahriari.
ISBN: 0415808235
Publication Date: 2012
"Authors Terry E. Miller and Andrew Shahriari take students around the world to experience the diversity of musical expression. World Music: A Global Journey, now in its third edition, is known for its breadth in surveying the world’s major cultures in a systematic study of world music within a strong pedagogical framework." Publisher

Contact me for help

Profile Image
Patricia Jordan
Try enabling Javascript to view this chat, or email me if it's still not working.
Contact Info
Central Library
Phone: 364 2987 ext. 8731
Send Email
 

Read these new books online

Cover Art
Understanding popular music culture. 4th ed. - Roy Shuker
ISBN: 0415517176
Publication Date: 2012
"Reflecting the continued expansion of popular music studies, the changing music industry and the impact of new technologies, Roy Shuker explores key subjects that shape our experience of music, including music production, musicians and stars, musical texts, music video and MTV, audiences and fans, scenes and subcultures and music as political activism and ideology." Publisher

Cover Art
Countercultures and popular music. - Edited by S. Whiteley & J. Sklower.
ISBN: 147242106X
Publication Date: 2014
"Recent developments in sociological theory complicate and problematize theories developed in the 1960s, with digital technology, for example, providing an impetus for new understandings of counterculture. Music played a significant part in the way that the counterculture authored space in relation to articulations of community by providing a shared sense of collective identity." Publisher

Cover Art
Music and identity in Ireland and beyond. - Edited by M.Fitzgerald & J. O'Flynn
ISBN: 1472409663
Publication Date: 2014
"While each of its contributors addresses particular themes viewed from discrete perspectives, collectively the book contemplates whether 'music in Ireland' can be regarded as one interrelated plane of cultural and/or national identity, given the various conceptions and contexts of both Ireland (geographical, political, diasporic, mythical) and Music (including a proliferation of practices and genres) that give rise to multiple sites of identification." Publisher

© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip