Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PHIL 133 – Philosophy and Human Nature
Choose the Right Sources
Your essay is joining an academic conversation – most of the Internet (social media, etc.) differs from academic culture – acknowledge sources you use (reference and cite) and avoid plagiarism
PHIL 133 > General Course Information > PHIL133 2021 Course Information
- Note: Your lecturer has put these here!
- Section II: Identify sources under your topic
- Scroll down to Section III Reading List for details
Search the library catalogue
- Philosophy Writing Guide: Task 14. Finding a book in the library catalogue
- Usually quickest: author surname and title words, e.g.
- Philosophy Writing Guide: Task 16. Online Philosophy Encyclopedias
- Excellent sources for an overview of a topic
- NB. Wikipedia may help you initially – but it is not reliable enough to use directly, do not cite it!
- for example, “Plato”
– use Find on the webpage for discussion of “forms”
- Philosophy Writing Guide: Task 15. Finding articles in academic journals
- Avoid: off-topic – too technical – too old
- Identify and read: one or two good ones that you can understand
- Focused usually on a very specific topic or aspect
- Peer-reviewed (scholarly) – relevant – written in English – full text – not too old
- peer-review = subject experts act as referees after a paper is submitted – quality assurance – may suggest changes or reject the paper
- Book reviews: usually don’t cite directly; may lead to a good book
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly journal literature. To link to UC content automatically, go to Scholar Settings, select University of Canterbury in the Library Links section, and save.
Searchable directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers
- comprehensive for philosophy – searching – browsing
- direct download often works for full text
- if you see “purchase article”, don’t – unnecessary to pay for an article – ask John to check instead!
- Browse: there may be a curated listing of articles...
start the search plato > Categories drop-down > Plato: Metaphysics – Plato: Forms (Restrictions: online only, published only)
- Advanced Search (small blue down-arrow at right of the search box)
with all the words = plato
with exact phrase = theory of forms
Other = professional authors only, online only, published only
JSTOR provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in many subjects. Does not include current journal issues; content is updated according to a “moving wall.” Open Advanced Search to limit by discipline to Philosophy