Scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles on environmental ethics may be published in numerous academic journals on philosophy or ethics. Articles can be found by searching in the key databases (see box below). Journals currently available at UC that focus on environmental ethics are listed as follows (you can search within individual e-journals via each journal’s online site)
PhilPapersSearchable directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in many subjects. Does not include current journal issues; content is updated according to a “moving wall.” Open Advanced Search to limit by discipline to Philosophy
This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I-XII, Biological Sciences, Business III-IV, Health & General Sciences Collections and 19th Century British Pamphlets. Title lists
Google ScholarProvides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly journal literature. To link to UC content automatically, go to Scholar Settings, select University of Canterbury in the Library Links section, and save.
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on philosophy and other subjects. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Below are links to several reference articles on environmental ethics from the major philosophy reference sources. The encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophy, the key reference work for this subject, is located in the EPS Library
"Introductory chapter survey[s] the emergence of environmental ethics as a subfield from the Western philosophical tradition .... 'a source that provides succinct accounts of the core values and issues surrounding humanity's relationship to the natural world.' Summing Up: Highly recommended. "Outstanding Title" 2009" [review excerpt from Choice Reviews Online]
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophy by